1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Top of the morning to you

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Yard Dog, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. Yard Dog

    Yard Dog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    Oldham, UK
    Hello all,

    Newbie here. Just thought I'd introduce myself.

    Had a Hero for a few months on Orange. Not really started to realise its full potential yet, but hoping you guys and this forum can help me. I've had a quick browse of the forum and really wish I checked this place out ages ago as there's a shed load of useful and interesting stuff for us Hero users..

    I've done what a lot others have done, it seems, and gone and bloody missed out the google sign in when setting up, so I'm off now to search the forums and find out what I need to do allow google sign in on my phone. Hoping to avoid a factory reset.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Renniks

    Renniks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    186
    2
    56
    Liverpool UK
    Welcome Yard Dog :) And good luck with the Google business :)
     
  3. Yard Dog

    Yard Dog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    Oldham, UK
    Thanks la'.

    No luck yet. Reading post after post on here, but struggling.

    Might have to be a factory reset, but that causes me a problem as I will need to back up my People but don't have a way I can back up as I cannot access markets to buy one.

    Wish I'd set up Google Account before I started using the phone.

    The 'clear data' in google apps don't work for me.
     
  4. Renniks

    Renniks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    186
    2
    56
    Liverpool UK
    Sound Mate :):)

    You could wait a bit for more replys, the guys on here should be able to help you out, and give you the best "Ways" To sort it :cool:
     
  5. Ziani

    Ziani Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    836
    92
    98
    Norfolk, UK
    You Dont need to do a factory reset just set up your account again by following instructions below:

    First go to Settings > Applications > Manage applications, and tap the Google Apps entry. Then tap 'Clear data', and tap 'OK' to confirm. This will delete your Google account details. To enter your account details go to Settings > Data synchronization > Google and you'll be prompted with the set up dialogue. Enter your account details and you're done.

    Hope this helps :)
     
  6. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    213
    0
    35
    UK
    Doesn't HTC sync kbacup contacts?
     
  7. Yard Dog

    Yard Dog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    Oldham, UK
    Had spotted your advice on another thread but it wouldn't work for me. Cheers anyway though
     
  8. Yard Dog

    Yard Dog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    Oldham, UK
    Ended up using HTC sync to move my contacts to windows live mail and from there managed to transfer my contacts to Googlemail.

    Then did reset and all sorted now. Woohoo.
     
  9. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    213
    0
    35
    UK
    I think you're going to have to do a factory reset mate. Is 'people' the only thing you want to save? Because you can just copy them to the sim card. It's not ideal, but I think it's the best you're going to get for now if you can't get into the market.

    **EDIT**

    I think we posted at the same time. Glad it's sorted! :)

    (for future reference, my backup is a good app. it's about $.99 but worth it)
     
  10. Yard Dog

    Yard Dog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    Oldham, UK
    You're right. See above dude
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...