1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root totally blank "My Apps" in market...HELP!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hasbrobot, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    Ok so I found an article on android police regarding speeding up the market, which involved using an app called "setdns".

    I went into the app and changed my DNS from Google 8.8.8.8 and Google 8.8.4.4 to "open dns". I didn't notice much difference so I reversed things and now every time I go into the market and check "MY Apps" there is a totally blank white screen. I can download and install from the market just fine but regardless of new installations nothing shows up in "My Apps"....what?

    In my attempt to correct this frackus, my effort included the following

    1. factory data reset, clear cache partition, wipe dalvik

    2. sbf back to build 602 factory data reset, clear cache partition, wipe dalvik

    3. take the ota to build 605 factory data reset, clear cache partition, wipe dalvik

    4. sbf to froyo (340) factory data reset, clear cache partition, wipe dalvik

    5. Its been 3 days now and it has not fixed itself, and also to clarify its not an issue on Google's end. I know this from signing into my Google account on a friends thunderbolt, and low and behold there were my apps! So it is definetly an issue on my phone.
    nothing thus far has fixed it!

    Would someone please help me fix this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Strange that an sbf did not fix it. So you changed the DNS settings back and still no go?

    Have you tried just clearing the android market data and cache?
     
  3. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
  4. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    have you tried clearing the data from your market app?
    settings
    applications
    manage applications
    all
    locate market
    clear data
    clear cache


    open market
    menu
    accounts
    and select your acct
    and then try downloading an app or updating one
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Roger that man. Hope it gets sorted for you soon.
     
  6. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    Tried all of that, thanks bro
     
  7. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    Still not fixed, getting annoyed
     
  8. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    hrm if you have tried an sbf restore, it may be something with your google account, you might want to send a support question to google about it
     
  9. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    Its still not fixed, this is getting old. Been emailing google support but it suddenly stopped. I think they saw my history of installed apps and figured I was rooted at some point. So much for help.
     
  10. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    so? being rooted has nothing to do with their software, thats carrier specific with being TOS agreement, you dont sign any agreement with google, its their software, the fact that your basically an administrator on your own phone shouldnt stop them from helping.

    i would continue emailing them because this is a problem with your account, especially if you have sbf'd several times, and tried other means, then yeah you need to contact them, and continue doing it, something has happened with your account and you need to get it straightened out
     
  11. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    Thanks for the advice, I sent off another email to google.
     
  12. LokiStormbringer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    45
    4
    16
    WI
    Just a thought but could it be file on your SD card that is not getting wiped during an SBF. Would deleting the android_secure folder and letting it rebuild maybe fix it?
     
  13. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    Its a thought, its something I haven't tried yet. Thanks.
     
  14. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    This is ridiculous, its still not fixed.
     
  15. Sarnow

    Sarnow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    108
    2
    36
    Seattle, WA
    Mine is doing it also now and i haven't changed any settings. Running SSM and that's it.
     
  16. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    Sorry to hear that, follow the link I posted a few post back. Take comfort we are not alone in this. As to why this is occurring no one yet knows. Good luck and hang in there.

    Running ssm?
     
  17. Sarnow

    Sarnow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    108
    2
    36
    Seattle, WA
    Sensei-Mod 602 GB
     
  18. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    my google music hasnt worked in a few days lol
     
  19. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    I found this
    and ofcourse it didn't fix it.


    "This was suggested on another site.................."Try going to data/data/com.android.vending, delete everything, deleted data/dalvik-cache, rebooted and everything synced perfectly afterwards"..............I tried it, but it didn't work. Mine is blank as well, but my wife's is not. We have the same phone DX2. I can't explain why."





    This didn't fix it either

    "I used root explorer went to /data/system There lies a file called accounts.db i used sqlite to open this file. Go into accounts and removed all accounts, THIS WILL REMOVE ALL YOUR DATA RELATED TO THOSE ACCOUNTS. after removing accounts i cleared market data from manage applications rebooted open market sign in for first time using a NEW gmail account, let the market update then restored market links and voila all apps were there again"


    It has got to be on googles end
     
  20. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    hence why i say continue emailing them to find out what is going on, hell, unroot your device then tell them your not rooted, and its still not working so its not your fault its theirs
     
  21. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    You unrooted?
     
  22. bbuck002

    bbuck002 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    622
    60
    78
    Research Tech
    Buffalo
    here's an off the wall suggestion, but I've noticed it on my device...

    do you have more than one gmail account on you phone? I have 2 gmail email accounts on my phone, and for some reason, when I go into my market, it defaults to my newest account, which isn't the account that I have all my apps purchased or downloaded through. when I go to the market settings and change accounts and go back to my apps, they are all there. otherwise they are invisible, and the 4 apps i accidentally downloaded on the other account are visible.

    hope this helps.
     
  23. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    bbuck may be right, if you have 2 accounts

    and i am not unrooted, my google music just isnt working. but im not too concerned with it right now, why dont you sbf to stock, then give them an email again?
     
  24. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    I have 2 but it defaults to the correct one. nice suggestion but when I switch to the other account will in the market out shows system apps. When I switch back while still in the market, its is blank.

    At this point there isn't much I haven't done as a veteren seasoned android user.

    I may be toying with different suggested "fixes" but I firmly believe it is without a doubt on googles end.

    Thanks for your suggestion
     
  25. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida

    I'll give it a shot
     

Share This Page

Loading...