1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Touch screen doesn't work

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by baraisis, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. baraisis

    baraisis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013

    Jan 30, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,

    My Galaxy SII (international) touch screen doesn't work. The "Menu" and "Back" buttons are working and as well the hard buttons.

    At the service place where I bought the phone, they couldn't do anything, they found some water in it and warranty doesn't cover that. Apparently it got some from humidity, because I don't recall dropping it into the water.

    So I took it to another service shop where they could fix the phone, they didn't say much except that to fix it will cost almost the same amount as a new phone. I know that's a lot of bull, and there is another way.

    So any ideas what to do? Will the problem be solved if I would just change the screen or I need to change something else? Any help is appreciated.

    Kind regards.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    Hello and welcome to Android Forums baraisis! :)

    You do not mention which components are affected.

    Water damage can result in progressive corrosion of the motherboard, causing some of the problems you mention, and from the brick bug damage that some rooted phones experienced last year, we know that that will cost you around
     
  3. Windowsfan100

    Windowsfan100 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013

    Oct 26, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hi Baraisis (and other people who read),

    Firstly I want to say that "Water damage" is a common trick to void your warranty/let it pay yourself. My mother had it too, but when she asked for the photo's of her phone, she get photo's of the same sort of phone, but it wasn't her phone.

    I've got the problem too, but for me, it's the background who causes the problem. I think my GPU is too busy with the interactive background, that the touchscreen doesn't get any priority. If you have got an interactive background, wait until the background is at it's most inactive, and then try to unlock. when you've logged in, change the background to an image which doesn't move.

    But unfortunately for me, i've selected a background which is always active.
    Are there any options to change the background via an Windows-based device?

    I've got a QWare TB-1317-HD

    Thanks in advance,
    WF100
     
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    21,983
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    21,983
    11,501
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    If you think they're pulling a trick like that, showing you pics of a phone that's not yours you might want to seek legal advice.
     

Share This Page

Loading...