1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Touch screen is constantly dying

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DemonDomen, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. DemonDomen

    DemonDomen Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    27
    2
    16
    When I first got my Milestone, the touch screen worked ok. After a while, the touch screen would stop working when I woke up my phone, but a reboot would usually fix the problem. Then after a few months of this, my touchscreen and capacitive buttons completely died. No rebooting, reflashing or nandroid recovering helped.

    After my touch screen was replaced, it was ok for a while. Then it started to stop working when I woke the phone again. A month later, my touch screen and capacitive buttons died again.

    Two days ago, the digitizer was replaced again, but the touchscreen still sometimes doesn't work when I wake the phone. After two digitizer died, I expect this one to die too.

    I'm using CM7, but the touchscreen unresponsiveness also happened on the stock firmware.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Alta1r

    Alta1r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    111
    19
    38
    Have you tried enabling the DSI kernel bug workaround to check if that helps anything? It's in Settings > CyanogenMod Settings > Display
     
  3. DemonDomen

    DemonDomen Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    27
    2
    16
    Yes, it's enabled by default. I've unchecked and checked that option again, in case there was a bug with the settings.
     
  4. Alta1r

    Alta1r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    111
    19
    38
    Well, let us know if it helped to get rid of your problem or not. :)
     
  5. DemonDomen

    DemonDomen Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    27
    2
    16
    I will. So far so good, but it usually takes a day or two for it to happen.
    EDIT: Nevermind, didn't work. I wrote this post, woke the phone and bam. I'll try turning off the workaround and see what happens.
     
  6. Alta1r

    Alta1r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    111
    19
    38
    It might be a hardware failure. Is your phone still in guarentee?
     

Share This Page

Loading...