1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Touch screen is *****ing out :/ can I recalibrate?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Android Question, Aug 13, 2013.

  1. Android Question

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hey there...
    Got my sony experia not even a month ago and the screen is goin completely mental... It's not like I'm tapping in one place and it's thinking I've pressed somewhere else, it's going completely hey wire... Can't even type in my password... Is there any way of recalibrating or resetting or anything? I haven't dropped The phone or anything, it's just being really silly and I can't do anything with it... And, yes I have taken the battery out And put it in again etc... Help will be much appreciated, thanks... Little emo xxx
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    Sounds like the digitizer is damaged or defective and registering non-existing touches. The only time I've ever seen it happen otherwise is when my phone was damp and the moisture was making the digitizer freak out.
     
  3. ifediri

    ifediri Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013

    Aug 13, 2013
    2
    0
    25
    Male
    Student, Content-developer, web designer, Penciler
    A.J, Lasgidi
    Well maybe you should go for a hard reset or something
     
  4. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    Thanks for joining. Hopefully we can help you get this solved!

    Try to stick it in a bag of rice (dry not cooked :) ) overnight. If it's moisture in the digitizer that will remove it. If that doesn't fix it, do a hard reset. You can access this through the menu of the phone. Not familiar with your device but it is a menu option....maybe under "backup and reset".

    Anyway, this will wipe your phone completely and take it back to stock. Not sure about the experia line and if it has an SD card or not. Some devices will wipe SD cards some won't, but just beware. Backup everything.

    If that doesn't fix it you have a damaged or defective digitizer that needs to be replaced.
     

Share This Page

Loading...