1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Touch Screen Issues - Can anyone help??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by blondbimbo1, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. blondbimbo1

    blondbimbo1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have an HTC Wildfire S & although it's only a couple of months old, for the last week I've been having troubles with the touch screen.
    Sometimes it works perfectly, but at others it completely ignores my attempts to open an app or write a text :( Has anyone got any ideas how to fix this before I become a little violent with it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. galesjam

    galesjam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    It could be that there is minimal storage left on your phone. I've heard that sometimes this can slow down the phone and cause pauses or slowness in the touchscreen.

    Check your phone storage, running processes, clear cache and remove unwanted apps that are stored on the phone storage. (in "Settings > SD & Phone Storage" and "Settings > Applications").
     
    blondbimbo1 likes this.
  3. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #268
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    245
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Yes, this has been the issue with mine.
    But I am also in discussion with HTC, as I have 56Mb free and 93Mb used (seen in Manage Apps area), but phone memory has 512Mb less ~150Mb for operating system, and I have totalled my Apps at 47Mb.....really confused!
     
  4. galesjam

    galesjam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    From what I can work out with my phone there is 512MB internal storage.
    The operating system, HTC Sense and pre-installed apps (the ones you can't uninstall) take up approximately 430MB. So that only leaves me with about 82MB of internal storage.
     
  5. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #268
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    245
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Yes, I got my figures slightly wrong, HTC explained it better 2nd time round, internal memory is 512Mb, and that I should be left with ~140Mb free with op. system on.
    I discoverd last night on another post here that HTC Sense and facebook contact sybch uses lost of memory, and I have my operator crap (that I don't want, an dtheir updates)....basically I believe, and told HTC, that the phone isn't fit-for-purpose, as it can't handle a moderate amount of stuff that we want/need on it!!!
    It would be OK, if the android op. system software could handle the storing of "stuff" onto the SD card.

    Is there software that I can use on PC to investigate the internal memory, to see whats there?? HTC said NO!
     
  6. galesjam

    galesjam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    I've used the "ES File Explorer" app form Market to look at the contents of the phones internal memory.

    I'm considering rooting my phone so that I can uninstall all of the pre-installed apps I don't want and free up more space. Only problem is that rooting your phone will invalidate the warranty!
     
  7. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #268
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    245
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    I would like to view using PC due to easier and screen size, and avoid an app.

    Would consider rooting too, but its more time/hassle, that I don't have, but then again, once done, there will likely be less than now!
     
  8. nirmalqmar

    nirmalqmar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    9
    0
    25
    India
    i assume the problem is only coz of memory here.. but what about water damage? you know the screen will not repsond properly even if there is slight water damage( maybe due to sweat sticking on phone when you talk)
     
  9. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #268
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    245
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    nirmalqmar - definitely memory issue for me, as a hard reset cured it.

    I am just really annoyed with this phone (HTC Wildfire S), as any other users, if they use apps, will have same problem - just not enough memory.....and really annoting that google put so much crap on it, and then my operator (VodafoneK)...
     
  10. MaN1011

    MaN1011 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    hi i have problem with my htc wildfire s,
    after i download app from market n install it,my phone suddenly jammed
    i power off my phone n try on back the power i cannot scroll down for unlock
    what should i do?:mad:
     
  11. GeniusHarsh

    GeniusHarsh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Software Engineer
    Pune, India
    I have memory issue too. With enough memory available too I cannot install small apps and throws a Insufficient memory error. I have app2sd installed, but of little use. Someone please advise.
     
  12. smurph1

    smurph1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #268
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    245
    10
    58
    Male
    Engineer
    Northern Ireland, UK
    To MaN1011...hard reset
    To GeniusHarsh...togain memory...root.
     
  13. maydog

    maydog Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    How do I stop the screen being so sensitive ? this is my 1st tuch tone ph and i'm ready for throwing in the towel. Any tips ??
     
  14. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,695
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,695
    23,276
    3,118
    Scotland
    I'd the same issue when I got my first smartphone, a screen protector helps massively.
     
  15. kaffann

    kaffann Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    19
    1
    36
    If you are running the latest firmware update you shouldn't need app2sd. You should be able to do this:


    Menu -> Settings -> Applications -> Manage
    Applications -> Select the app you want to move -> Move to SD card

    As usual with Android not all apps / games can be moved and widgets should stay in the phone memory.
     

Share This Page

Loading...