1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Touchscreen problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kieloh, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Kieloh

    Kieloh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    meh
    Ireland
    Hi all,

    I was playing around on my desire yesterday, when trying to press buttons it just started going mental...

    App forced close... and from then on the screen no longer responded to what I was trying to do...


    Turned it off overnight, powered it up today and the same problem.

    If I try to tap "All Apps" it just highlights "All Apps + Phone" then the screen starts to flicker between panels....

    It's head-wrecking...

    Anyone able to shed some light on the issue?

    :eek::(
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Does the screen act as if you are touching it when you're not?
     
  3. Kieloh

    Kieloh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    meh
    Ireland
    Sort of,

    If I tried to tap my WiFi widget to turn it on/off it would then act as if I was trying to swipe to the next panel, and then it would go to the add/remove widgets thing... it's just gone mental...

    If I try to text it will just start adding z's and a's or whatever in when I would be pressing a character at the other side of the screen...

    I've tried removing recently installed apps but it's still the same..

    I might try installing the Oxygen ROM... see if that helps, because this ROM has given me plenty of problems before already :eek:
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    a good way to test what I asked would be to see if in a browser (or similar) you can use one finger to achieve pinch zoom...

    I ask this, because if it is acting as if it is being touched somewhere, this is usally a digitiser hardware fault and would need replacing.

    Suggest wiping and perhaps testing another rom like you said if you can. If its still there, it probably is a digitiser fault. When did you get the phone? Remember its 2 years warranty!
     
  5. Kieloh

    Kieloh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    meh
    Ireland
    Thanks for the help!
    Yeah I was able to achieve a pinch zoom with one finger... but it seems fine now and I can't do it any more on the new ROM... veeeery strange indeed.

    In case this happens to anyone else, I completely wiped the phone, installed the latest Oxygen ROM from the XDA website... and so far so good... phone runs much smoother on this ROM and the battery seems to be doing a lot better... So fingers crossed!

    I got the phone back in April I think, but I bought it from someone who received it as an upgrade... so when I got it, it was still in the shrink-wrap...

    If the problem did arise again, would I still have the manufacturer's warranty with it from HTC? or would that require a shop receipt... ?

    Thanks again for the help :eek:
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    the digitiser hardware issues are known to come and go but it would probably surface in the next day or so if its that.

    I believe they ask for a receipt. I would be using my email order confirmation from my carrier as that is all I have. do you not have a receipt of any kind?

    A digitiser is about
     
  7. Kieloh

    Kieloh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    meh
    Ireland
     
  8. Kieloh

    Kieloh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    meh
    Ireland
    Everything is still working, well sort of..

    I installed the mutli-touch application, and there are a few dead spots on the screen (3-4)

    So when texting, I can't press the "y" as it's a dead-spot.... is that the digitizer?
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    yes
     
    Kieloh likes this.
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yeah sounds faulty to me.
     
    Kieloh likes this.
  11. Kieloh

    Kieloh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    meh
    Ireland
    Thanks for the help guys, will get it sorted soon hopefully :p
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...