1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Touchscreen randomly stopped responding

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by drdnaught1, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. drdnaught1

    drdnaught1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    140
    10
    48
    I have a Droid Razr, and today for the first time the touchscreen just stopped responding. The "back" button and power button still worked fine, but with the touchscreen down, I couldn't unlock the phone or even power it totally off.

    About five minutes later it started working again, but this had me a bit worried. Is this a common problem with the Razr, and are there steps I can take to prevent it later?
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I've moved your thread here to the RAZR forum where you'll be more likely to get feedback from other RAZR owners on this issue. Hope this helps! :)
     
    drdnaught1 likes this.
  3. AeroEngi

    AeroEngi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    71
    6
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    Happened to me once and all I had to do was restart the phone using the volume down + power button function. Hasn't happened again since.
     
  4. sugoi

    sugoi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    This happened to me just once recently, after the update, 'battery pull' worked, and hasn't happened since then. I was showing the phone off to a iPhone user, so I guess that figures. I had also unplugged it from the car charger and didn't exit out of the Navigation when it happened.
     
  5. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    300
    33
    43
    Hey, that just happened to me, too.
     
  6. Sather

    Sather Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    8
    2
    6
    Six times so far
     
  7. designer43

    designer43 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    naked gardner
    Ga
    AGGRAVATING to say the least, usually once a day, sometimes twice. Always when scrolling a browser, either stock or dolphin. Didn't notice before ota. Hoping 2.3.6, or ICS will fix. Screwed if it's hardware. Pretty sure it's software if it only barfs scrolling. Killing all but browser and crossing fingers.
     
  8. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Happened to me yesterday. First time on over 2 months.
     
  9. BubbaNexus

    BubbaNexus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    541
    66
    78
    this thread reminds me of my bionic experience....

    well, you can try a hard reset, see if a recent app is the culprit.
     
  10. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    I had this problem. It has not happened in some time now, and not at all since the 2.3.6 upgrade.
     
  11. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    I have loads of apps frozen, so I just assume it may be a side effect :). I can live with that if it only happens once in a while.
     
  12. you2

    you2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    930
    125
    93
    Hasn't happened to me yet; but from the description of the problem it almost sounds like a software issue. Given that some of the services seem prone to crashing at time I guess that would not be surprising.

    If you can find a way to reproduce the issue (or a common sympton when it happens) you might be able to forward the info to verizon/moto in hope of a fix.

    Also you could check logs (or dmesg) to see if anything is logged (though it might be painful in this state :( )
     
  13. designer43

    designer43 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    naked gardner
    Ga
    I'm at 2.3.5 and no update found. Did you get it ota?
     
  14. Grey1001

    Grey1001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    538
    91
    78
    NorCal
  15. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
  16. Grey1001

    Grey1001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    538
    91
    78
    NorCal
    I have not installed it yet, but I've read that you are able to " roll back to stock " somewhere on the forums. Maybe in the root section.
     
  17. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    As I understand it, you may need to reload an older version of the software (back to 2.3.5) using RSD Lite and the fastboot files.

    The going back to 2.3.5 also does not need root. So for non rooters, win-win.
     
  18. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    Thanks..I will do some research..I hate to mess up my phone. My last phone was almost unbrickable and easy to fix....not as comfortable with this one.
     
  19. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    A strange thing. First I got this issue twice in two days and now have not had it for 4 days. Must be a specific situation in which it does that.
     
  20. rlockwich

    rlockwich Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    It did this to me at least 12 times within a month. Wiping it in recovery mode, along with restoring factory settings, and so far 2 weeks in it hasn't done it yet.
     
  21. ne0lyfeism

    ne0lyfeism Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #300
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    294
    37
    43
    Male
    In the burbs of SEPA
    Has happened to me three times in total since I got the phone in November - twice pre-update and once post-update. So in my case, it's pretty random when it happens and it appears that simply turning the screen off and back on again tends to remedy the issue.
     
  22. GTastic

    GTastic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012

    Feb 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I found that if I plug in the USB cable (whether it be connected to a computer or the wall adapter) will also remedy the problem. I find this to be a very strange and unfortunate issue that I hope is remedied soon.
     
  23. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    Just to reiterate, I rolled back to .748 to get the OTA, and had a screen freeze within the first 12 hours. I'm pretty sure that .173 has addressed this issue.
     
  24. ne0lyfeism

    ne0lyfeism Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #300
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    294
    37
    43
    Male
    In the burbs of SEPA
    Haven't had the screen freeze up since.
     
  25. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    Screen freeze is SNAFU for this phone it seems, sometimes it does sometimes it dont. Happens to me once in a while and then will go weeks without, then all of a sudden, it happens again. LOL Who really knows?
     

Share This Page

Loading...