1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Touchscreen stopped working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jeffery, May 7, 2012.

  1. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    The touchscreen on my touchpad stopped working. HP is sending me a box to get it fixed. I ran ACMEUninstaller to get rid of Android and then WebOS Doctor, but how do I delete the Lost Dir. folder etc. to make sure everything is wiped?

    I can get the Touchpad into the USB logo screen, but it doesn't appear on my computer when I plug it in.
     

    Advertisement

  2. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Do you mean the sdcard?

    You might need to wipe the sdcard partition via adb.

    Sorry, I'm not fluent in adb.
     
    Jeffery likes this.
  3. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    Thanks, I will do some searches to figure it out... when I do I will post the commands. :)
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I DO know this much...

    Open command window...
    adb devices

    After that it gets foggy. :D
     
  5. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    How to erase your touchpad USB drive:

    First put the device into recovery mode, then memboot the device using the installer uImage (extracted from your webOS Doctor jar):
    novacom boot mem:// < nova-installer-image-topaz.uImage

    After it boots, run novaterm:
    novaterm

    Once connected to the device, type:
    lvm.static vgscan --ignorelockingfailure
    lvm.static vgchange -ay --ignorelockingfailure

    then type:
    mkdosfs -f 1 -s 64 /dev/store/media

    Once that completes, put the device back into recovery mode and run the webOS Doctor.
     
    colchiro likes this.
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Cool. You all set now?
     
  7. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    Yes, it's on it's way back to HP.
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I'd be interested in how it works out for you (having had Android on it at one time).
     
  9. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    I just received my replacement :driver:
     
  10. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Was it much work? Any hurdles?
     
  11. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    Nope, the only trouble was figuring out how to wipe via command line.
     
  12. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I was reading on Rootzwiki last night where someone's TP wouldn't charge and he had to return it to HP for repair. They refused warranty and wanted to charge $265, b/c they found it had Android on it.
     
  13. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    Well, then I am really glad that I took the time to completely format the disk with the computer!
     
  14. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...