1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support touchscreen unresponsive when executing pattern unlock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Flea0, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. Flea0

    Flea0 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Hello, I've been having this problem for a while, and I'm on stock 2.3.6 and go launcher. at first I didn't have any security enabled and the standard swipe to unlock was jittery and unresponsive, as if the screen lost track of my finger every fraction of a second. Now that I use a pattern unlock it's a lot worse. unless I wait a few seconds before swiping, it will almost always fail to register the entire swiping movement and only pick up parts of it, which of course eventually triggers cerberus alarms, which can become annoying. any hints? :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. ajmount88

    ajmount88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011

    Oct 2, 2011
    79
    10
    18
    UK
    If it's doing this try hitting the home button before trying again. This usually solves the problem for me. I think the problem is that the phone isn't particularly quick at coming out of sleep mode, but hitting the home button again seems to fully wake it up.
     
  3. grmpfl

    grmpfl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012

    Jun 8, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Hey there,

    I have the same issue several times a day.

    For me its not happening every time I want to unlock my phone but definately several times a day.

    What I noticed so far:

    - When this problem occurs and I wait for 2 seconds, it will work normally
    - When i keep my finger pressed when this happens, the problem will persist practically forever.

    I managed to unlock my phone without releasing my finger (super fast movement within this short "timeframe) and after that it kept behaving this way even in the other menus or when pressing the home-button.
    I had the "Pointer Location" option enabled and could see that every ~0.3 to 0.5 seconds the touch screen lost track of my finger as if I stopped touching it.

    It looks like the whole touch recognition is "pulsing" on and off.

    After I raised my Finger for 2 seconds everything went back to normal.


    Is it a Hardware issue? This Problem is persistent even through several updates. (From Gingerbread to Icecream)
     
  4. naith_kk

    naith_kk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    187
    29
    73
    its mainly software... but the design is to achieve balance... choosing between a longer battery lifespan by putting the processor to deep sleep (which takes a while to be responsive), or a better response on startup, but takes a toll on battery life.

    They are only changeable/tweakable through processor management applications that require you to root your phone.

    The only solution for non-rooted phones, are to wait a few seconds after pressing the home/power button - until the processor is fully back to the state of better performance/interaction.
     
    jack40k likes this.
  5. grmpfl

    grmpfl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012

    Jun 8, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the reply.

    What I am wondering is, why it keeps being "broken" as long as I don't lift my finger.

    So I unlocked it (with a quick movement) and kept my finger on the screen. Now i could always see how he had the position of my finger - lost track - position - lost track.

    This continued as long as I did not release my finger. So the phone was fully awake by then. Shouldn't it be able to register my fingers properly then?

    Or is it kind of Calibrating the Capacitive sensors which it could not finish because I touched it already?
     
  6. jack40k

    jack40k Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    That's a great reply Naith. How do you know that? I have had 2 Galaxy S2's and I never had this issue on my first.

    What are the root programs which can achieve this?
     
  7. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    You would need to root your phone as per the instructions, here:-

    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-s2-...t/482994-rooting-galaxy-s2-dummies-guide.html

    and then install a customisable kernel, such as Siyah, here:-

    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-s2-...8798-siyah-ics-kernel-v3-x-dummies-guide.html
     

Share This Page

Loading...