1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Traffic Widget

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by loomer, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. loomer

    loomer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    300
    25
    63
    IT Technician
    New Jersey
    Has anyone else noticed the new traffic widget on their phones? It allows you to put a traffic signal on your home screen, and it gets tied in with a destination you put in. It polls for traffic between where you are currently, and that location. Signal changes color (green, yellow, red) depending on the current traffic situation. I am assuming it came with the latest GMaps update? Very cool!
     

    Advertisement

    cableguynoe and markm2 like this.
  2. RJT185

    RJT185 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    550
    51
    78
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Thanks for the heads up!
     
  3. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    I don't see the point of it. It seems to be just an indication of traffic in the general area, and you need to be on your home screen to use it.


    I've been suggesting that they make the Google Navigation icon in the status bar (or whatever the top of the screen is called) color coded so that it shows the traffic on your route even if you don't have Navigation as the active top screen. That would be useful, this isn't.
     
  4. loomer

    loomer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    300
    25
    63
    IT Technician
    New Jersey

    The point of it is you can check for traffic when you are going someplace. I have three on my home screen, set to destinations that I frequent. So before I leave for one of those destinations, I can check the signal, and it tells me if I am going to hit traffic. Seems pretty straight forward to me?
     
    LorriDroid likes this.
  5. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    But it doesn't seem to do that--it's just traffic in the general area. How would it possibly know what route you're taking to get from point A to point B? I set it up for my house and it showed that I had a lot of traffic even though I was at my house! Maybe that's because it knew my garage was full? :D And in any case, it doesn't tell you where the traffic is, so you can't avoid it. Seems like just using Google Navigation is a better solution. I use it all the time on the way home from various locations, even though I obviously know how to get home.
     
  6. loomer

    loomer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    300
    25
    63
    IT Technician
    New Jersey
    When you tap on the signal, it gives the signal color that corresponds with the amount of traffic (green, yellow, red), and also the time it would take to get from where you are, to whatever you have as the destination for the signal. It all ties in with Google Nav. The time it gives you is based on the shortest route it to get to the destination. That's how it "knows".
     
  7. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    Well how would I possible know what it knows? What is the shortest route?


    To get to downtown North Seattle from my home I could take I-5 to the west of Lake Washington, I-405 to the east and then take either I-90 or SR 520 over to I-5. All are about the same number of miles, and each regularly has entirely different traffic, from none to horrible. Which of those three routes would it consider the shortest route?
     
  8. loomer

    loomer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    300
    25
    63
    IT Technician
    New Jersey
    Shortest, as in shortest distance. What you are talking about is quickest.
     
  9. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    Note I said all three are about the same number of miles. Depending on where I was located, they might flip-flop on which is shortest.
     
  10. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
     #148
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    This is pretty cool. I bet most people dont know about this.
    You should post this in the android lounge to let others user know about this ;)
     
  11. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    It's a cool widget, but it drains your battery. Constantly working.
     
  12. ozzzy3z

    ozzzy3z Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    105
    14
    38
    I have two traffic widgets installed (one for home, the other for work). Unless I tap the widget it stays asleep for me. It also doesn't show as a running process unless activated.
     
    Lenagainster likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...