1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Tranquility 2.3.7: A Blurless Droid X

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by quadjacks, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. quadjacks

    quadjacks Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    30
    4
    36
    Internet Marketing
    Over There

    Advertisement

  2. northernmoris

    northernmoris Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    314
    41
    43
  3. quadjacks

    quadjacks Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    30
    4
    36
    Internet Marketing
    Over There
    Which shows the anticipation...
     
  4. Deception88

    Deception88 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    I just flashed this to my OTA 2.2 Deodexed and so far so good. I put Fab's NexTheme on top of it with no problems that I can see. I put Launcher pro on top of it for the widgets. The messaging app seems to be working ok but I switched to Handcent.. Super easy install though
     
  5. dtowntke

    dtowntke Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Installed higher quadrant then rubix I don't think its no we're as smooth
     
  6. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    So what's the verdict here?
     
  7. xx DROiD ERiS xx

    xx DROiD ERiS xx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    180
    6
    36
    Toyota Service Writer
    Jerseyy
    Im personally loving rubix but ill give this a shot later
     
  8. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    I'm interested in the thoughts on the built from source launcher
     
  9. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    just backed up and giving this a try. I'm doing a clean install, wiping data/cache and will run this stock to put it thru its paces
     
  10. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Can you tell me the steps to backing up and restoring an image?
    I made a backup of rubiX but when I tried to restore over a fresh rubiX install, I got md5 error.
     
  11. dB Zac

    dB Zac Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    313
    10
    38
    Custom car fabricator
    Oroville, CA
    Does this rom have working quick contacts Widgets? I don't care if they are android ones or the motor ones.
     
  12. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee

    I use rom manager to backup and restore all my images. I'm not sure what causes an Md5 mismatch.
     
  13. BuTbKa

    BuTbKa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    825
    134
    93
    SoCal
    I noticed I always get md5 mismatch when I rename back ups, as long as they under default name everything is OK, once renamed - md5 error
     
  14. dbcalo

    dbcalo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    didn't work for me. got a boot loop after following the directions. bootstrap recovery saved me though.
     
  15. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    Do you rename you images yourself on your pc or phone? I rename thru Rom Manager (it names the image before you actually back up) and I don't get the error.
     
  16. BuTbKa

    BuTbKa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    825
    134
    93
    SoCal
    I renamed thru RM, before it actually creates back up
     
  17. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Same here. I named it before the backup. Quick question: Could you nandroid from 2.1 to 2.2? I'm trying to understand the limits of clockwork recovery.
     
  18. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    no you have to be on 2.2 to restore a recovery of 2.2
     
  19. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    So I could go from 2.3.9 to 2.3.13 or .15?
     
  20. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    yes. you just need the original 2.3.9 first
     
  21. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    anyone else notice the build now shows 2.3.9? was there a reason for this?
     
  22. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    probably a result of using some of beasley's build.prop edits.

    Tried this rom out. I'm going back to 2.2.3. The launcher isn't for me. I know I can throw on LPP or ADW but I was hoping to run without a third party launcher. I wish the phone and browser buttons were customizable(I don't use the stock browser) and I absolutely HATE the 3D app drawers. No offense to the dev, I know alot of people like them. So all in all its ok, but I like my current setup better.
     
  23. erplot

    erplot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    How does one delete all e-mail messages in this ROM? In the stock version, one presses the menu key and "select all" comes up and then "delete". This doesn't seem to have that option. Any suggestions?
     
  24. brooks77

    brooks77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Can anyone tell me why my text messaging doesnt work? I dont even have the widget on my home screen.
     
  25. Deception88

    Deception88 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    I have this ROM installed and have a noob question.

    I deodexed my phone using 928droid's .zip fils and am wondering if I wanted to go back to the stock ROM can I just Boot into Clockwork and install that 928droid's deodexed .zip file to get back to stock?

    I am liking the ROM so far just want to know my back out options.. I am trying to remember if nandroid backed up or not...

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...