1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General transfer apps to new phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by boostm3, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. boostm3

    boostm3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    32
    2
    16
    The app backup/restore software apps Ive seen backup to and restore from sd card.

    What have you guys found to be the most effective way to transfer our apps from our old phones to our Nexus 4? Anything more efficient than installing 1 at a time from 'my android apps' at Google play?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,532
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,532
    28,559
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I tend to always install fresh, especially when the new device is running a new version of Android. I've found Appbrain.com to be really helpful in putting large groups of apps on a new device. If i set it up on the old phone and sync it, i can then push the same group of apps to the new device in one shot.
     
    alfick3 likes this.
  3. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,759
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,759
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    Thanks for that info. I'll have to remember that app when it comes time to get a new phone.
     
  4. boostm3

    boostm3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    32
    2
    16
    So, considering Id be going from my Samsung Epic 4g (samsung galaxy s1) to my Nexus 4, a jump from Android 2.3 to 4.2, would you suggest using Google Play - MyAndroidApps and install one at a time, fresh, or, gang install them using Appbrain?
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,532
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,532
    28,559
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You can still use appbrain and if there are any that aren't compatible it will just reject them.
     
  6. boostm3

    boostm3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    32
    2
    16
    Does appbrain reinstall them on the new device? Any decent way to move the contents of the memos that have been written and stored on the old device?

    Thanks, btw, for the help!
     
  7. boostm3

    boostm3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    32
    2
    16
    I was on their site, looking for a way to do this, but then ran across this:

    "If you then sync your new phone again, all your old apps should show up as "to be installed". You can then easily go through the market and install them all. (Note that the Google market doesn't allow us to do batch installs)."

    If this is the case, why is this any different than using MyAndroidApps at google play and installing from there, 1 at a time?
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,532
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,532
    28,559
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That must have changed recently :( Appbrain used to be able to push apps to your phone like the Play store does now.
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    In theory the Play Store should restore all of your apps when you login for the first time on a new device.

    If it does not work then log into the Play Store in your web browser and push them that way. You will of course lose any saved game info (if you game on your device).

    I would not recommend using TIBU and copying from one device to another as you will likely have data corruption (or the chance of it).
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,046
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,046
    13,081
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    That may depend on your settings. There's an option to let Google back up your data (in Privacy on Gingerbread, but I think it may have moved in later versions), and if that is unset I don't think it does that. At any rate it doesn't for me after a reset, though I seem to remember it doing so once when I left that on by mistake.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...