1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

transfer contacts from windows mobile to android?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bmar29, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. bmar29

    bmar29 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    69
    2
    16
    I have a Motorola Q9m with WinMo 6.1
    Im upgrading to the Motorola Droid
    My question is what the best way to transfer contacts...freely. Unfortunately Backup Assistant isnt available for windows mobile phones....
     

    Advertisement

  2. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    1,292
    242
    143
    L'Etoile du Nord
    If you havent purchased the phone yet, and your going to a Verizon store ... they can swap the contacts for you.
     
  3. bmar29

    bmar29 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    69
    2
    16
    unfortunately i was planning on ordering it online because im away at school and there isnt a verizon store near me
     
  4. sherri

    sherri Android Expert
    Rank:
     #128
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,168
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,168
    507
    213
    Do you use Outlook to sync the Q (I used the Q for 3 years...)? (NOT OUTLOOK EPRESS)

    If so, sync Q9c with Outlook, import contacts to Google and when you start Google on the phone, all your contacts are there.
     
  5. bmar29

    bmar29 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    69
    2
    16
    i feel like i keep poking holes in this but im a mac user
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    If you can get your contacts synced with your GMail account, you'll be set - as soon as you set up your GMail account on the android phone you choose, it will start to sync them down.

    By now, there simply has to be a way to sync WinMo to Gmail....

    Perhaps this can help - Official Google Mobile Blog: Google Sync Beta for iPhone, WinMo and SyncML Phones

    If you do not want to use your primary account to synchronize all your accounts, create a dummy account to use for the synchronizing process....
     
  7. visong

    visong Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1
    0
    5
  8. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    Even mac users can have Windows Live accounts. Don't tell me the you can't sync winmo contacts with Windows Live. That would be so incredibly stupid that I might have to annoy some customer service people at Microsoft. Sure, I love my android phone, but if a really great winmo7 phone comes out and that doesn't work, someone is going to get a spanking.
     
  9. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #229
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    876
    209
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    I used something similar to this, but can't recall the name. It let me save my contacts on my WM phone to a CSV file and then I e-mailed them to my PC, finally I imported the CSV in my Google Contacts (this should work exactly the same with a Mac.) I got my Droid and the CSR activated the phone and said, "Give my your old phone and I'll transfer your contacts." I told them they were already in my Google account and he insisted that I would need to transfer them anyway. I handed him my WM phone and he disappeared into the Verizon Inner Sanctum. He came back out about 30 seconds later and asked my how I did that. The contacts had already synced from Google and were intact on the Droid.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  10. wingssu

    wingssu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    3
    0
    5
  11. elrabin

    elrabin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    203
    50
    53
    I went from an ATT Touch Pro 2(windows mobile) to an HTC Incredible on verizon.

    Easiest way to do this is to connect microsoft activesync and upload your contacts to the gmail address that will be associated with your android phone.

    Then, when you get your android phone, enter your email address and your contacts are loaded to the new phone automagically.

    Google Sync for your phone
     
  12. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    ^^^ This is the method I used (somewhat, I use Outlook however) for my Moto Q. Just have to get your contacts into .csv, upload .csv to Google, then sync newly created "vCard" file to Android phone.
     
  13. elrabin

    elrabin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    203
    50
    53
    no computer involved in my method.

    Went straight from phone to phone
     
  14. wingssu

    wingssu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    3
    0
    5
  15. TxGoat

    TxGoat Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I just hate the idea of uploading all my contacts to Google especially considering that I just created this Google account.
     

Share This Page

Loading...