1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Transferring Number from old phone to Esteem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by travioso, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. travioso

    travioso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    943
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    943
    179
    93
    Ocala, FL
    Ok, this may not be the best spot for this so I apologize ahead of time.. Simple question as I know alot of you are coming from other Metro phones.. I'm assuming that dialing *228 once I get this phone (hopefully in 2 weeks) I can transfer my old phone number to this one fairly quick.. I know metro did it at the store last time but I didnt know i was charged an extra 10 bucks until after the fact.. I ask here and not there because I was looking at the Admire and they told me that if I traded in my Ascend I could get the Admire for 139 (it was only 129 online..) so i have no faith in them except to take my money and hand me the box :D Looking forward to having fun with this bad boy with yall.. :cool:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Aplus

    Aplus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    653
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    653
    255
    113
    Bay Area
    Simple answer: yes.
    You can do it over the phone or online, and it's free. When I got my Esteem I jumped online and switched my number over to my Esteem and then switched my wife's number over to my old Optimus. It was fairly straight forward. I haven't done it over the phone but, I believe it is just as simple.
     
    awhite91 and travioso like this.
  3. travioso

    travioso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    943
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    943
    179
    93
    Ocala, FL
    Thanks! Sounds simple enough.. Didn't even think of doing it online at the time but I remember seeing it there before now..
     
  4. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Yeah I just found out today they charge 10 bucks after the fact. If I would of known that I would of done it myself.
     
  5. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    *228 and say activate a phone, or switch phones, saves you $10 and make sure to call them back and make sure they put both phone back on the family plan, for some reason it kicks off when you switch phone. ;)
     
    Eddy120876 likes this.
  6. travioso

    travioso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    943
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    943
    179
    93
    Ocala, FL
    One last question.. :) does it automatically switch over to the 4g plan? doing it online? i.e. going from ascend/non4g $50 plan does it go to the esteem/4g 1 gig cap $50 dollar plan?
     
  7. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    yes it does, but if you have a family plan it will be $55 instead of 60 and get unlimited data.
     
  8. travioso

    travioso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    943
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    943
    179
    93
    Ocala, FL
    Gotcha.. But I think my ascend's last ring will be soon :) gonna keep it around to see what else I can learn though without endangering 'big daddy' :D
     
  9. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    lmao yep dont what to hurt big boy to soon, far as i went was removing bloat, downloaded alot of apps and use titu to move all apps to sd card.
     
  10. travioso

    travioso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    943
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    943
    179
    93
    Ocala, FL
    i think the first couple days i may just jump up and down and drool on it a bit :D gonna root it of course but thats probably as far as i will go.. oh.. maybe point and laugh at the ascend a lil lol.. kanaida's app seems to have promise though..
     
  11. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    yes indeed!!!:)
     
  12. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Do NOT change your boot animation. Ahaha
     
  13. travioso

    travioso Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    943
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    943
    179
    93
    Ocala, FL
    thanks for the warning.. I've seen in the forums that it is a sure fire way to brick the phone for good..
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...