1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Transferring Ringtones and pictures

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Girevik, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    671
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    What is the best way to get my ringtones and pictures off my old phone over to my Captivate? I've copied them from my old phone to my computer, but now need to get them to the new phone. I've attached it with the charge cable and mounted it as a drive, but I don't see anything that looks like it would be an approprate place to store the file. I can also try connecting via bluetooth if that would be a better way to go.
     

    Advertisement

  2. RonH54

    RonH54 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    208
    17
    38
    Once you Mount the phone Create a Folder on the Drive Called Media. Then in Media make Sub Folder called Audio. In Audio Make a Ringtone Folder and then copy you Ringtones into that Folder. For Pictures go to the DCIM Folder and open it you will see Camera Folder copy your Pictures there. Also if you want you can make Sub Folder in Media/Audio for Videos and place Movies there if you want. Also can Make ones for Notifications and add sounds there. Also can do same if you want Custom Alarms.
     
  3. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    671
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    Does it matter where the "Media" folder is created? For some reason I kept getting an "access denied" error whenever I tried to do something on the phone.
     
  4. RonH54

    RonH54 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    208
    17
    38
    You just place folder on the Main Parent Folder where the rest are listed. I have my phone rooted but I don't think you have to do that. Here is a link basically telling you what I did. Not sure why the access denied message.

    Guide- Add custom ringtones and notifications to your Android device | Android News | This Android Life
     
    Girevik likes this.
  5. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    671
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    I haven't added an SD card yet...this makes it look like it's required. I thought you could do it directly to the phone like my prior one. I'll put my SD card it in and see if that fixes it up.
     
  6. RonH54

    RonH54 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    208
    17
    38
    You can place on the External SD card if you have one but mine is on the Main SD.
     
  7. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    671
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    Ok, now I'm confused. When you say "main SD", is that the phone's internal memory, or the SD card when you remove the battery cover? The one under the battery cover is the only one I know if, and my phone didn't come with one.
     
  8. RonH54

    RonH54 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    208
    17
    38
    The phone main storage is the oneI am referring too and that is where I created my Folders to store Ringtones. I also have an "external Card" that I have created the same folder but I have Movie Videos stored there. Sorry for the Confusion. Are you still getting access denied message?
     
  9. RonH54

    RonH54 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    208
    17
    38
    Girevik likes this.
  10. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #199
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    671
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    No, it seems to be letting me in now. I'm on a different computer, but I think I drilled down into a "data" folder before. I was probably somewhere I wasn't allowed to be.

    Looks like I've got it working now (but I'll probably transfer it over to an SD card). Thanks for the help!!
     
  11. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    263
    IT Admin
    USA

Share This Page

Loading...