1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support travelling in italy, how to use local sim

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by boatman, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. boatman

    boatman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    448
    15
    38
    Am going to Italy, and was wondering if anyone has been there with a D3 or even D2G and what local sim they got and how to set it up.

    I usually buy vzw intl plan, but would rather just use local plan specifically with Data and use US skype number. I don't know about local sims having data, what it costs, and how to set it up.

    I guess if you have been in europe would be the same for setup, just hoping to get more info for italy if possible. thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. aandjw

    aandjw Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    OK - traveled to Europe this summer for a month with my new Droid 3 (upgraded from HTC TouchPro2).

    Called Verizon the first day I got the phone to get the SIM card slot unlocked. NOTE: you must have some sort of SIM card to make sure it works (not sure if the Vodafone one that came with the phone would have worked but I stuck in an old Chinese one).

    We used the TIM card in Italy - there are many stores and support menus in English. Only drawback is that you can't get the card until you arrive. I had sent a request to the Italian Consulate in LA to get a "Codice Fiscale" so I wouldn't have a problem activating in Italy.
    www.
    tim.it



    Worked like a charm...data also worked well.....they have a smartphone plan (it was actually free in July/August - promo - that was sweet!)

    Cheapest calling back to the US in other countries:

    Austria - EETY (bought in a store in Vienna)
    Germany - Lebara (bought at a store in Passau)
    UK - Lebara (selling in Paddington Station as you exit the Heathrow Express train)
     
    doogald likes this.
  3. boatman

    boatman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    448
    15
    38
    thanks for this info.

    do you also have vzw intl plan or did you just put phone into global for wireless carrier.

    also, how do you set up data plan on sim card? i have used sim in UK in my old TP2 vzw phone, but that was just voice and text.
     
  4. boatman

    boatman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    448
    15
    38

Share This Page

Loading...