1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Trick] Free Hotspot access for AT&T device

Discussion in 'AT&T' started by DilHil, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. DilHil

    DilHil Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    20
    8
    16
    Chicago, Illinois
    AT&T ONLY!
    I have found a way to get it for free! You simply go into
    settings>wireless and networks>Mobile Networks>Acess Point Names
    then press menu>Add new APN
    Fill information out as the following (Case Sensitive)

    Name: Wi-Fi

    APN: wap.cingular

    Proxy: wireless.cingular.com

    Port: 80

    Uname: WAP@CINGULAR.COM

    Pw:CINGULAR1

    MMS Protocol: WAP 2.0

    MCC: 310

    MNC: 410

    Now when your done with that you press your menu button again and "Save" then you will go back you will see that MEdia Net has the green Dot, you need to click on "Wi-Fi" the one you just created. After that just go back to your home screen, Reset your phone and now Wifi Hotspot works for free!
    *Thanks Button!*
     

    Advertisement

  2. jamesdean

    jamesdean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    633
    80
    78
    I guess I'm missing something. I don't have Access Point Names under Mobile Networks.
     
  3. FCGuy1579

    FCGuy1579 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    45
    4
    16
    I'm not sure if you are missing something because I don't have that option either.
     
  4. mecampo

    mecampo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    213
    22
    38
    Male
    IT Programmer Analyst
    Cypress, TX
    don't have it too, DilHil may have confused between his evo and inspire.
     
  5. -Mike-

    -Mike- Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    370
    191
    68
    Male
    Baltimore
    Looks like its something for the AT&T network.
     
  6. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    900
    234
    93
    SF
    Yeah i dont have that either.

    Or you could just root, and have it free for almost a year now.
     
  7. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    1) That setting is for ATT And,

    2) You didn't find anything new. This APN has been around forever and used for unbranded/unlocked GSM phones.
     
  8. DilHil

    DilHil Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    20
    8
    16
    Chicago, Illinois
    Yes, sorry should have added that this is for At&T
     
  9. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    You don't have it for free..you just have a feature that is built into the phone and should be allowed to be used without charge. I'm sure you're paying for whatever data is being used, so what's the problem? (unless you're on unlimited data..then that's a problem)
     

Share This Page

Loading...