1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support trouble connecting to Android Market over Wifi....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tren S2, Aug 31, 2011.

  1. Tren S2

    Tren S2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    Senior Tech
    PE
    So i got my Galaxy S2 on friday...got to work today and decided im going to start messing around with it as i didnt have time the wkend..

    I can connect to the wireless, can access the net, google talk app works fine, accuweather updates etc...

    But the moment i try to access the android market it gives me a "Network error has occurred"

    But if i connect from my phones 3G then that works fine...

    any reasons as to why would be of great help....

    as its eating up my phones credit LOL...

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,956
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Moved here for visibility from SGSII users
     
  3. demvin

    demvin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I also have this problem with my GS2. At first all was working well, but now I cannot update or install apps over Wifi. Another app that suffers the same problem is the Youtube app. I can search, see comments, but the videos won't play over Wifi. All is fine over 3g. Can you check the youtube app yourself ?
     
  4. Morat

    Morat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    202
    22
    38
    Are you on orange by any chance? If soyou are probably accessing the orange market and not the android one.
     
  5. demvin

    demvin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I am on Bell Canada.

    Other problems include :

    - Youtube videos only streaming on 3g
    - Can receive but not send messages in gmail.

    Really weird...my phone has been flawless for 1 month and now it's useless:mad:
     
  6. hamiltonian

    hamiltonian Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    hi
    I seem to have the same problem - basically, the phone reports as being connected to my router, but I get the 'network error' message when using Markets, and other network apps (facebook, email, etc) just hang.
    I'm distincly un-impressed, having just made the jump from a Wildfire, which worked just fine (so it's not like the router has changed).
    I sit about 4 metres from the router, and have a perfectly good wifi signal to two laptops....
     
  7. Remeniz

    Remeniz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    399
    46
    43
    Computer Tech & Audio Engineer
    Peterborough - UK
    Yea this is similar to a problem I'm having....

    My phone is fine on my own WiFi network at home and was fine with my brothers BT router and Mc Donalds a week or two ago. Now, even though it says it's connected to my brothers and Mc Donalds network, they're both unusable. No pages load at all yet in the settings I've got a great signal and it says it's connected.

    On a separate note though I am having a hard time updating some applications for some weird reason.
     
  8. kebark

    kebark Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011

    Jul 31, 2011
    106
    17
    38
    On the McDonalds one, are you going through the stock browser?
     
  9. biahhoi77

    biahhoi77 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have the same issue with a new samsung galaxy s2. new out box, registered to google account, yet trying to access android market using wifi it cannot connect to the market even though I am connected to the wifi. Even internet on the browser it just sits there doing nothing.

    Any ideas how to fix?

    This is brand new out of box !!
     

Share This Page

Loading...