1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root trouble restoring rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by beerbq, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. beerbq

    beerbq Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    I downloaded cm7 and didnt like it, so I tried restoring new sense. While trying to restore new sense in rom manager it said no ext sd card skipping or something like that then it went into bootlooping. Some how I got it fixed. Then I downloaded cyclonic and the same thing happened while trying to restore. What am I doing wrong. Yes I am new to this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,774
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,774
    1,822
    693
    Male
    USA
    Rom manager is unreliable. Did you do a nandroid backup in Rom manager or recovery?
     
  3. beerbq

    beerbq Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    I used Rom manager.
     
  4. beerbq

    beerbq Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    I did buy a new sd card but I had the files on my computer so I just copied and paste to new sd card.
     
  5. beerbq

    beerbq Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Another thing when I downloaded cm7 it restored all the apps I have ever downloaded and when i restored new sense it didnt.
     
  6. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,774
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,774
    1,822
    693
    Male
    USA
    If you have the rom zip file on the root of your sd card, you can flash the rom via recovery. Be sure to wipe data, wipe cache and wipe dalvik cache before flashing the rom via recovery. Rom manager is unreliable and probably the cause of your problems
     

Share This Page

Loading...