1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General trouble "roaming"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mokeaction, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. mokeaction

    mokeaction Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    2
    0
    25
    I get random disconnection of service from the sprint network... meaning all bars get dropped... 3g disconnects and I get a weird roaming message saying i have a loss of service... This happens 3-7 times a day in a metropolitan area... I have great service on my other phones so it is a epic issue.. anyone experiencing the same thing?


    Also can anyone tell me which app can show me a awake time of the epic touch so i can see if something is eating my battery?
     

    Advertisement

  2. neotoky

    neotoky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Happens to me too. Never had reception and roaming issues before getting the epic 4g touch. It is very frustrating.
     
  3. johnkim575

    johnkim575 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I love this phone and I am not going to return it but yes I too have been getting "roaming" signal where I usually had normal signal with my old evo 4g.

    Hope its just a software issue.
     
  4. Kokofoxy

    Kokofoxy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Oh thank GOD! I'm not the only one :) Yeah I've had this issue for a few days and thought it was only me. But this is by far the best phone I've ever owned I do hope they release a fix or something though!
     
  5. NewShockerGuy

    NewShockerGuy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    104
    2
    36
    IT
    Yep same issue here...
    Quite annoying when I am taking a dunp playing angry birds and then the message comes up saying I am roaming... Never had issues like that before.

    -Nigel
     
  6. tenyc424

    tenyc424 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    49
    4
    16
    If I'm not mistaken roaming is included in your plan. I took off the roaming guard that was on the phone and that helped. Before everytime I roamed it shut down my data and phone signal and a message popped up telling me I was roaming then I would click ok and everything came back again. My blackberry never had this roaming guard so I figure I turn it off my epic. Ever since then I never had this happen.
     
  7. LxMxFxD

    LxMxFxD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    256
    42
    43
    Are any of you who experience this problem rooted? There are some who say the most current root method (9/20) is the cause of this.

    If you are not rooted though, over at xda people are saying this is a flaw in the software and that samsung & sprint are "working on it." Thats really all i've read about it. It apparently isn't a hardware problem, and will eventually be fixed.

    Supposedly sprint is even offering $50 credit if you experience this problem:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1278691
     
  8. Kori_Tamashii

    Kori_Tamashii Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    277
    25
    43
    Being insane is a full time job.
    La Vista, NE
    Chatting with Sprint about this issue now... all he seems to think is that the problem will magically disappear if I exchange the device. It also doesn't seem like his English is very good.

    He told me to call account services, so now I'm on the phone with Maryanne from Oklahoma. Hmm.

    "...it will be addressed in MR1, which is a software upgrade. There is no available date of release for it, but it is coming."

    She is VERY kind, very polite, and told me that I'M very polite, matter-of-fact, honest, and businesslike, and that she's more than glad to help me. I'm getting a $78.72 credit on my next bill cycle to compensate for the lost data.

    Like a boss?
     
  9. geekaren

    geekaren Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    68
    21
    38
    Sprint employees at Sprint.com forums are acknowledging & researching a "loss of signal" issue. (Note, I don't think it's exactly the same issue as phone roaming.)
    Sprint Community: Loss of Signal on Samsung Epic 4G Touch
     
  10. mmark27

    mmark27 Newbie
    Rank:
     #888
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    Yes, Sprint is on this and hopefully get it sorted out soon. They are also working on the roaming data issue (where the phone isn't set to automatically roam for data....you have to select "DATA" roaming first, then that'll check the phone roaming and allow you to connect). Heard not from Sprint CSR but from the product team through Sprint itself that are responsible for this phone.

    People should also post these issues to the Sprint forums. Right now, the techs and product team [not just mindless CSRs] are actually listening to problems and getting them reported properly. They need details for reproducibility though.

    Sprint Community: Space: Samsung Epic 4G Touch
     
  11. CzechPleez

    CzechPleez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    72
    19
    18
    Data Security
    Kansas City
    I find it easiest to set up a shortcut (on any of the 7 home screens) to display your battery usage.

    Long press > shortcut > Settings > Battery Usage
     
  12. Kori_Tamashii

    Kori_Tamashii Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    277
    25
    43
    Being insane is a full time job.
    La Vista, NE
    I'm stupid, I guess, and no matter what I do I can't view the Sprint forums, lol. Something about an error with the same e-mail address or something. Annoying.
     

Share This Page

Loading...