1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Trouble Setting Up E-mail Accounts (.edu in particular)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jhogan412, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Jhogan412

    Jhogan412 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Hey everyone, I'm very new (like 5 minutes new) to the site so I apologize if this thread is posted in the wrong place.

    The other day, I took my Droid into a Verizon Store because I couldn't figure out how to add e-mail addresses to the E-mail app. I ended up having to wait over an hour before the rep at the store could find a compentent IT guy to walk him through the process. That was for a Yahoo! account.

    From what I've heard, the process for setting up a .edu account is completely different from a Yahoo! account and I thought I'd ask here before wasting availible daylight sitting in another Verizon store looking at phones and accessories I'm clearly not going to buy lol. I'd appreciate any help. Thanks everyone
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    393
    6
    36
    Florida
    It isn't the domain as much as the server. What type of mail server is your .edu institution using?

    (Moving to Droid forums for you.)
     
  3. Jhogan412

    Jhogan412 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    I believe it's Microsoft Exchange
     
  4. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    393
    6
    36
    Florida
    Exchange has its own setup through Active Sync. When you add your mail account, you need to choose Corporate, then configure with the settings for your mail server. You may want to contact your IT staff for help, since you will need to know things like the name of the internal domain.
     
  5. Jhogan412

    Jhogan412 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you for your continued help. Where do I find Active Sync?
     
  6. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    393
    6
    36
    Florida
    Here's a copy of a step-by-step I did in another thread.

     

Share This Page

Loading...