1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Trouble with Kies Air

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mavrick123235, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. mavrick123235

    mavrick123235 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Just purchased SGSII recently. I'm new to Android OS infact this is my 1st handset that operates on Android. Need help on Kries Air. Not able to connect handset to my PC.
    I have the following question
    DO i need to download Kries Air on my PC first before trying to connect?
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    Welcome to the forums! :)

    I can imagine you would need to install the S/W first, however not owning the SGSII, I can't say for sure. Folks in the Galaxy S2 subforum may be able to assist: Samsung Galaxy S2 - Android Forums
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,150
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,150
    35,758
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Welcome to Android Forums!

    Yes, you must install Kies Air on the PC prior to attempting to sync your phone over WiFi. It should be on the CD that came with the phone, or you can download it from Samsung's web site.
     
    mavrick123235 likes this.
  4. mavrick123235

    mavrick123235 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hey, I installed Kies Air on my PC, runs on windows XP. Started Kies Air on PC,then I connected SGSII via USB to the PC. I cud see on the top left corner (PC), "connecting device" rotating icon and then nothing happens. On the device I see "connected" message.
    Need Help here!
     
  5. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    installing Kies Air on the computer? im not sure if u guys mean installing Kies on ur PC.. but i didnt have to install any software to get Kies Air working. just run it on my phone, and open the web browser n enter the address given on my phone..i dont think u need to install anything?
     
  6. daz_2000

    daz_2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #297
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    323
    44
    43
    London, UK
    You don't need to install kies air on the computer. It is very different to kies.

    Just launch kies air from phone when on wifi. Then go to the URL provided by the phone on a PC on same wifi. Its browser based.
     
  7. mavrick123235

    mavrick123235 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I connected device and PC to the same network via Wi-Fi, typed in the URL onto my web browser. The PC doesn't seem to connect. It take an aweful long time and everytime I had to close the browser since it does not seems to open.

    Then I tried to install kies on my PC. Started kies on PC and connected device using USB. Kies shows a icon of left top corner says "connecting" and then nothing happens.

    Need help!
     
  8. rsathishkumar

    rsathishkumar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Using Kies Air is very easy. Do the following steps

    1. Connect your mobile to wifi network
    2. Open the kies Air application in your galaxy s II
    3. Click start button
    4. it will show you a IP address with 8080 port
    5. Type the address shown in your mobile in any of the computer (browser) connected in the same network
    6. Your mobile will show a popup window to confirm the use of kies air through the computer click ok
    7. Now the interface will appear in you browser
    Use it:)
     
  9. loony

    loony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    301
    86
    53
    australia
    the first couple of times i did it it gave me trouble, made sure all peerblockers and firewalls weren't the problem, then it went nuts asking for permission (even though i tick remember) over and over again about 15/20 times.
    now, it connects straight up.
    remember to turn skies on the phone first THEN the browser. i have it bookmarked now and connects great.
    (p.s. using firefox....maybe other browsers are blocking it somehow?)
     
  10. xmjox

    xmjox Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    I loaded it up using Firefox 4.0 on my iMac with no problems. It took a while to connect intiially but no more than 5 minutes and worked find once connected.
     
  11. loony

    loony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    301
    86
    53
    australia
    firefox > IE

    *except the new 4.0, blows chunks and is slow. i kept the old version and just dont update :p *
     
  12. xmjox

    xmjox Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    Really? I've noticed the exact opposite! :eek: Performance has increased and I prefer the layout too. I'm disappointed with Firefox for Android though, although I understand it's only in beta.
     
  13. loony

    loony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    301
    86
    53
    australia
    maybe they have sorted out the bugs, it was awhile ago....
    haven't tried the phone version, just used dolphin via so many recommendations.
     
  14. xmjox

    xmjox Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    What's dolphin like? I've had no problems with the stock browser but am always interested in trying others out to see what they can offer
     
  15. sammie717

    sammie717 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    Hi could someone please help. I am trying to pair my s2 with my pc. My pc will not pick up the address via kies air. Any ideas :thinking:
     
  16. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    only thing i can think of is, did u type the full address properly? and after u enter it in ur browser, u have to confirm the connection on ur phone..
     
  17. sammie717

    sammie717 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    ok ta. i put the full address in and on my s2 it says online but pc will come up address not found. im starting to get square eyes and loose the will to live. :rolleyes:
     
  18. sammie717

    sammie717 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    and how do i comfirm the connection with my phone? thought it would just load. although i cant even get through the browser. just comes up no address found :mad:
     
  19. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Your phone and computer must be on the same wifi. If you are using your phone as a hotspot then connect your computer to the phones wifi.
     
  20. sammie717

    sammie717 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    yeah my phone is running of my home band so they are the same. so do i change the phone net as if i change my pc one it wont work and i will go offline.... im being really thick i know :eek:
     
  21. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    hmm not sure why it wont work then. you could try it the hotspot way.
    Disconnect your computer from your home broadband. Start the Kies app on your phone and click portable wifi hotspot. Then tick the portable wifi hotspot box, click ok then go back to the kies app. Connect your pc to your phones wifi (It should show up when you do a connection search on your pc). Once its connected, enter the address thats shown in your kies app.
     
  22. loony

    loony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    301
    86
    53
    australia
    its good, very fast, although that's just the phone really :D
    i too am a bit torn between just using the stock browser...one downside is you lose the motion gesture with zooming in/out with another browser. if you like using that, stay with the stock....but really ive yet to give them both a good run, dam you angry birds!!
     
  23. Primavera

    Primavera Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    If your browser is not showing any result after typing the address provided by your phone, just go to Network (in Windows Vista, 7) or My Network Places (Windows XP) after starting Kies application on your phone. In Network windows, you should see something like (samsung GT-I9100 Kies air). Once you double click on it, a popup windows will show on your phone screen to confirm the connection between your PC and the phone, click OK. After that your default browser will open kies air with the same address given on your phone (http://192.168.xxx.xxx:8080).

    Otherwise, try typing that address on a different browser than your default. If this doesn't work, try to check your router port settings.
     
  24. Harjas Singh

    Harjas Singh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    i recently purchased a s2 and was comfortably using kies air. however, recently kies air (along with some other apps) is crashing when i click on the start button. any help would be much appreciated.
     
  25. djlane1

    djlane1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011

    Jul 5, 2011
    2
    0
    5
     

Share This Page

Loading...