1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Trying to make a theme for Liberty 1.5

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Thatoe, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. Thatoe

    Thatoe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    Hi, I'm totally new to theming android but I'm trying to make my own theme for Liberty 1.5.
    Can anyone point me in the right direction?
     

    Advertisement

  2. faber78

    faber78 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thatoe likes this.
  3. Thatoe

    Thatoe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    Thanks. I do know how to sbf. And I have themed other OS's like Windows and iOS.
    I'm just not familiar with theming Android.
     
  4. faber78

    faber78 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  5. kheovnien

    kheovnien Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    118
    4
    36
    i'm assuming u know this already, but i would start with viewing through another theme first. i'm not a themer, but i do like to frankenstein my own themes from multiple themes (i.e. status bar icons, drop down menu from one theme and settings and app icons from another theme). that and from help on the forums is how i've learned a little about themes. good luck!

    oh, and faber has been very helpful to me. find the nice guys on the forums and u can learn a lot.
     
  6. Thatoe

    Thatoe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    Oh so, if i download a theme for liberty 1.5.. I can just open the apk's with winrar and replace the png's? That'd make life really easy.
     
  7. k0smo86

    k0smo86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    373
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Florida
    You would want to use 7-zip, but yes basically. That's how I "create" my themes.
     
    Thatoe likes this.
  8. Thatoe

    Thatoe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    That's nice. What about the original zip of liberty 1.5. not the theme. can i still replace the pngs?
     
  9. kheovnien

    kheovnien Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    118
    4
    36
    I wouldn't suggest doing that. there's no need to reflash an entire ROM just to change some png files. Just download a full theme and 7-zip it and most of the png files to edit will be in the system/res/hdpi-XXX folders. there is the framework-res which edits things like the status bar and drop down tray and other settings icons, but the individual apps that you want to theme will be located under the app folder (i.e. phone, google voice, text messaging, calandar, clock, gmail, facebook, etc.). when you crack open a full theme you will see exactly what i'm talking about. try something like watermark'd. that theme has a lot of icons customized. just be sure to always make a backup before you flash a new theme in case you don't like it or you possibly messed up. as long as you only change png files it's pretty safe. xml files will change things like battery increments, text color and styling, and some other stuff. i don't get into that as i just copy it from others. :)
     
    Thatoe likes this.
  10. Thatoe

    Thatoe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    I know there's no point reflashing the whole ROM for a theme. I'm just wondering if it works the same way.
     
  11. zdubin9

    zdubin9 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    im still pretty much a newb and dont really think i have enough time to learn how to make my own theme, but is it possible for someone to get recent applications in the notification bar like they do on some of the new phones? is this even possible?
     
  12. kheovnien

    kheovnien Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    118
    4
    36
    i have never seen recent apps in the notification bar, but u can hold down the home button and it will show the most recent 8 apps u have used or if u r using launcher pro u can swype the app drawer icon and it will show the most recent apps.
     
  13. zdubin9

    zdubin9 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    67
    4
    16
  14. faber78

    faber78 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

Share This Page

Loading...