1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

trying to Root but issue....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by luckyluch, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    Try settings>applications>manage applications>gmail then clear data and clear cache. If that doesn't work try uninstalling and reinstalling gmail.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    19,962
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,962
    9,572
    1,443
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    You sure you installed the latest Gapps, March 25 release, if still an issue, try going back into recovery, and clear, cache, Davlik and format cache

    FYI if you want a Sense weather clock, try Fancy widget, very similar


     
  3. snwbrd40oz

    snwbrd40oz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    30
    2
    36
    Retail Manager
    Denver, CO
    rb- a reinstall took care of it
    DonB- I was just about to ask! That's a pretty good replacement, I do miss Sense a little bit, but GB is SMOKIN' fast so far! I love the lack of lag...
    If anyone else is reading this and pondering rootin/flashing DO IT! It is dead simple and it makes your phone AWESOME
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    19,962
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,962
    9,572
    1,443
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Wait until you make a phone call and see no lag, that is worth the price of admission, there are many replacement for the sense apps you loose


     
  5. wolfus

    wolfus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    23
    5
    16
    OK - so, I followed everything on the instructions that I read in several threads & now my phone us stuck on a black screen with an animated silver android logo.

    it keeps moving, so maybe that's a good sign?
     
  6. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    It will take a bit to boot up the first time you flash a new rom be patient if starts to reboot over and over then you will need to reflash.
     
  7. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,931
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,931
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Wolfus....how long have you been in the booty animation?
     
  8. wolfus

    wolfus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    23
    5
    16
    I'm guessing about 30 minutes or so...
     
  9. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    That's a little long. I assume you flashed aosp gb? Did you flash the rom before the gapps?
     
  10. wolfus

    wolfus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    23
    5
    16
    yes - I started with the Z4 root, installed ROM recovery. Flashed the CWM recovery, backed up apps with titanium.

    then, I rebooted in recovery, cleared caches and installed the new ROM and Gapps, restarted.

    pulling battery now and going back.
     
  11. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    You need to wipe data/ factory reset then wipe caches. Then flash rom and gapps.
     
  12. wolfus

    wolfus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    23
    5
    16
    gotcha - missed a step.
     
  13. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    Let me know if you get up and running and if you have anymore questions.
     
  14. wolfus

    wolfus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    23
    5
    16
    works like a charm now - just getting things set up...
     
  15. steam374

    steam374 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    190
    8
    36
    Washington
    I like "sense analog clock dark" also, you can choose your own clock skins and such...
     
  16. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    19,962
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,962
    9,572
    1,443
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    You can do the same with Fancy Widget also and it looks almost identical thus the reason why I mentioned it


     
  17. Engnrguy7

    Engnrguy7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Electrical Engineer
    MA
    Hey all,
    This thread is awesome. It inspired me to take the plunge and root my wife's Hero.

    I went through the steps of downloading Z4Root to the download folder on the SD card, installed it on the hero, clicked on permanent root and it got stuck at the reboot screen. I pulled the battery after 4-5 minutes and booted up. I don't think it worked as I don't see any indications that it did. I expected to see something in the app tray. Did I miss something or not put Z4Root in the right folder?

    2.1-update 1
    Baseband:2.42.02.10.29
    Build: 2.32.651.2 CL282911 release-keys

    Can any one help? It would be much appreciated.
     
  18. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53

    What you are looking for in the app drawer is the super user app. It looks like a skull and cross bones. If its not there then simply run z4root again just like the first time and repeat until you have super user in your app drawer.
     
    Engnrguy7 likes this.
  19. Engnrguy7

    Engnrguy7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Electrical Engineer
    MA
    Thanks! I just saw that beautiful skull and crossbones and clicked on it. It shows z4root with a pretty green dot next too it.

    I think when I downloaded the .apk it got corrupted or something. I deleted it all and downloaded again. When it ran it asked me if I wanted to allow superuser. You guys are the best!

    Now to figure out how to remove all the bloatware and other fun things to make her phone usable again. (and get to stop complaining about her phone)

    Now...to flash the ROM or not too flash, that is the question...
     
  20. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    If you want to just remove bloat use titanium backup to do so just be careful not to delete anything your not sure about.

    But if you really want to speed it up you are going to want to flash a rom the gb roms are very smooth compared to a sense rom.
     
    Engnrguy7 likes this.
  21. Engnrguy7

    Engnrguy7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Electrical Engineer
    MA
    Thanks for all of your help, RB31202. I hope your getting paid for all the help I have seen you post in Android Forums.

    I may do just that, I am not sure I want to venture into that yet. I am at least hoping that removing the bloatware speed sit up slightly and makes it usable enough.
     
  22. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Haha! No, we do not get paid. :D

    We help because we love the Android platform. So, to spread the love, we help others that need it! ;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...