1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

turbo laggy!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrdrh99, Nov 22, 2014.

  1. mrdrh99

    mrdrh99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    155
    9
    36
    I've had my turbo for a little under 2 weeks.... Does anyone else have problems with it being slow? I mean, this chip set should be blazing but I notice way more lag with turbo than I did with my maxx!o_O
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    What do you mean by laggy?

    I do not have a performance problem.

    I did a Factory Data Reset after installing the update since there was not that much of an impact. I figured ... why not there wasn't that much of an impact. I don't know if that makes a difference.

    I Wipe Cache Partition once a week. Many performance problems in previous phones could be solved by this periodic wipe.

    ... Thom
     
  3. Gonzo117

    Gonzo117 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014

    Nov 5, 2014
    17
    0
    15
    Male
    Clear your cache and you won't notice any lag
     
  4. Skipdawg

    Skipdawg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    456
    47
    73
    Male
    US Navy Vet, very retired!
    Washington State
    Not noticing any lag. Came from the HTC DNA. Seems to be a speed demon to me.
     
  5. budfox66

    budfox66 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    200
    19
    38
    Male
    Eastern NC
    How do you wipe cache partition on this phone?
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    My updated instructions using the Motorola website instructions ...

    This will remove any temporary files that may be causing the problem, but will not delete your files or settings.
    1. With the phone powered off, press the VOL DOWN KEY for 2-3 seconds then POWER key then release.
    2. The device will display different BOOT OPTIONS
    3. Use the VOL UP and DOWN Keys to SCROLL to Recovery mode and POWER Key to select
    Tip: If the device reboots, you may have waited to long to make a selection, you will need to begin the process again.
    4. The device will display the Motorola logo and then the Android in distress ( logo with Exclamation mark)
    5. Press and hold the VOL UP key for 10-15 seconds. While still holding the VOL UP key tap and release the POWER key
    Tip: You can try this step, holding the phone in landscape. If you are stuck on step 6, try a force reboot by pressing the Power key and Vol Down key, and start the process again.
    6. The device will display additional menu options (Text will appear in BLUE)
    7. Use the VOL DOWN Key to scroll to wipe cache partition and the POWER Key to select this option
    8. The device will then perform the partition wipe
    9. The device will reboot and start the normal power up sequence

    ... Thom
     
  7. coulterjosh

    coulterjosh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014

    Jan 13, 2014
    196
    14
    58
    i have not had a problem either
     
  8. coulterjosh

    coulterjosh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014

    Jan 13, 2014
    196
    14
    58
    just did the cache partition delete to see if there is a difference
     
  9. DanL

    DanL Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014

    Jun 18, 2014
    49
    6
    46
    This should be in a sticky post at the top of the Droid turbo forum. Useful tips.
     
    Thom likes this.
  10. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Done. I also added Factory Data Reset.

    ... Thom
     
    red66charger likes this.
  11. air1keh

    air1keh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    15
    3
    16
    General Manager
    Seattle, WA
    I tried this and everything went well until I executed the wipe cache command. It went into some kind of "loop" and it would not finish and reboot. I shut the phone down and restarted it. Everything was fine - lost no settings etc. I shut the phone down again and tried to wipe the cache. Same result. It went into a loop and I had to force shut it down.

    The second time through, I thought maybe I was being too impatient so I let it run for 5 minutes. Wonder if it's this phone or something that I am doing.

    Keith
     
  12. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    The time varies.

    On the Maxx it was about 6.5 min.
    On the Turbo it was a little over 2 min.

    You just have to let it run and it will reboot when it is done.

    (This lengthy process started with 4.4.4 and there has never been an explanation as to why it takes so long.)

    ... Thom
     
  13. the_rooter

    the_rooter Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I too wipe cache partition every week, and notice no lag whatsoever.
     
  14. Gonzo117

    Gonzo117 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014

    Nov 5, 2014
    17
    0
    15
    Male
    The last time I wiped my cache, it took about 20 minutes. I started to get nervous. I wonder why it took so long? The first time I did it, it took 10 mins so not sure what's going on.
     
  15. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,931
    483
    Anybody who knows for sure has never said, but here is my guess: in the past, wiping cache used to simply format the /cache partition, sort of like formatting any hard disk, flash drive, etc., which returns results very quickly. For some odd reason, wiping cache is now just erasing files and folders in a file by file manner, taking far longer.
     
  16. piscestg

    piscestg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    61
    15
    28
    Male
    Missouri
    My Maxx would take almost 15 minutes to clear. I too got scared the first time. But it was fine. I have cleared my Turbo three times now I believe since I got it on October 30th. Just the other day I cleared it and it took about 10 minutes I would guess. I wonder if I should do another wipe immediately.
     

Share This Page

Loading...