1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Turn data completely off?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SadAstronaut, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. SadAstronaut

    SadAstronaut Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hey, I'm new to this site, and this will be my first Droid phone, so excuse me for being an idiot, but before I buy it I have a question. The plan I'm on (Koodo Talk and Text) does not have any data coverage at all (they charge you per MB), and since I don't particularly want to pay any more than what I already pay for month, is it possible to completely disable Data connection and use WiFi only on this phone?
    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    Welcome to the Android forums!
    When you start the phone for first time, in Google account setup screen press Menu and setup Wi-Fi connection. If the Wi-Fi connection is established, phone will use it for setup and first synchronization. Than go to Setings (press Menu on main screen), Wireless & Networks / Mobile networks and uncheck the "Data enabled" option, the phone will then never use mobile data.
     
  3. SadAstronaut

    SadAstronaut Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks a ton! I can still use WiFi for the Android Marketplace and other web-related things?
     
  4. SadAstronaut

    SadAstronaut Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Sorry for the double post, but I have one more question. I've heard that even with data disabled, some apps can still access data. Is this true?
     
  5. Epicish

    Epicish Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    you can use WiFi for market place and other apps. :D I don't think apps can access your data.
     
  6. mahni1390

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011

    Jun 23, 2011
    76
    4
    16

Share This Page

Loading...