1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Turn of touchwiz?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mmmarcus, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. mmmarcus

    mmmarcus Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Do you guys think it will be possible to turn of touchwiz, and just go with the standard android 2.1?
     

    Advertisement

  2. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    If it's not possible on the Behold II. I highly doubt whether it will be possible on the Galaxy S.
     
  3. waspbr

    waspbr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    91
    9
    36
    Even if you root it and install a new rom?
     
  4. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,612
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,612
    108
    163
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Im Sure installing panda home or some other home replacement app should do the trick. I currently use panda home
     
  5. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    82
    4
    16
    Software Engineer
    Chandigarh, INDIA
    I'm able to easily turn off default "pantheon home" and replace it with "GDE" on my galaxy spica running android 2.1.

    This needs no root or what and kills and takes over pantheon which is sluggish and keeps hogging memory in the background.

    The same should be true for Galaxy S as well I believe ;)
     
  6. rtimi

    rtimi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    14
    0
    35
    Actually turning it off would be a bad idea, since touchwiz 3 is much better than even sense ui
     
  7. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Home replacements only mask the OEM's UI. For it to be truly free, you would have to root but like the poster above me said, this is touchwiz 3.0 which looks to be a ton better than touchwiz 2.0 (on the Behold II) so I would probably just keep it like it is.

    BTW - Knowing how bad Samsung locks down their phones, rooting and running custom roms might be hell.
     

Share This Page

Loading...