1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root turn your captivate into a wifi hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vapor311, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    225
    15
    38
    stumbled across this great little app for root only needs super user perm.

    to turn captivate into wifi hotspot

    Downloads - android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    thats the page that host them all

    this is the newest link to apk download.
    http://code.google.com/p/android-wi...reless_tether_2_0_5-pre9.apk&can=2&q=NexusOne

    ignore nexus one ending works on galaxy s im using it right now on my mac.

    showing 255kb down 200kb up not the greatest but works for sure! can encrypt also with catchphrase. great for on the go!
     

    Advertisement

    boulder, phantomatech and Spacemanbob like this.
  2. tomhorn

    tomhorn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    19
    2
    16
    Wifi Tether has been posted about many times here and at XDA. It works well for what it is, although there are a few bugs. Certainly beats paying extra on your data plan to get the 'official' tethering, especially if you are just a casual user of it to check emails on the road (like me).
     
  3. Apanther

    Apanther Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Thanks a million! this works better than all the market solutions I have tried. Barnacle stunk the joint up too. Not the fastest connection in the world, but reliable and it works well on my iPad. This gives me the last piece of functionality that I had with my jailbroken iPhone. Android is awesome.
     
  4. ranova

    ranova Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    370
    74
    53
  5. picklesNICKLES

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    student
    Akron
    keeps saying unable to start tethering, no matter how many versions i try


    any way to fix this?
     
  6. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    225
    15
    38
    Not sure why you would be getting that message. It worked instantly for me. I installed went into the setup menu set up encryption with a catch phrase and turned it on. Might. Uninstall and try it again it works flawlessly make sure it has super user access.
     
  7. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    225
    15
    38
    The down side to this method is your doing a full 1.2 o'clock misc install pkg etc not everyone is interested in doing so. I do agree all the market apps suck which is why I gave out the one abobe.
     
  8. ranova

    ranova Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    370
    74
    53
    thats why i said to get the Mobile AP only package.... does not overclock, undervoltage, etc. It is JUST the mobile AP.
     
  9. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    I am going to assume that this work and add it to the guide sticky.
     
  10. smeltn

    smeltn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    51
    0
    15
    So this fully works on the Captivate now? No manual loading it each time etc?
     
  11. picklesNICKLES

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    student
    Akron


    I tried reinstalling this and I am still having no luck.

    I did the Unleash The Beast update.zip, would that get in the way of any of this?
     
  12. RO3

    RO3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    26
    2
    36
    IT Service
    Florida
    Yeah, I have the same problem with it. It installs correctly but just continues to say unable to start tethering, please try again later.
     
  13. TheLaw

    TheLaw Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Sactown
    I'm having the same problem
     
  14. picklesNICKLES

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    student
    Akron
    I also use Barnacle wifi legacy (and tether)...neither of these work either
     
  15. ranova

    ranova Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    370
    74
    53
    yes, mobileAP works fully now without the need to load the service manually each time. Get the update.zip package from the first link I linked.

    While it takes a few more steps (you need to reboot into recovery to apply it), mobileAP is NATIVE and is the best way to tether wirelessly. No hard crashes (android wifi tether) and no need to change MTU (barnacle). Read the second link for the benefits of mobileAP and infrastructure mode (supports WPA, which is more secure than WEP)
     
  16. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    225
    15
    38

    worked first try for me any others not sure what would prevent some from it working and no it doesnt have to be reloaded each time
     
  17. smeltn

    smeltn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    51
    0
    15
    well I am running Unleash the Beast update on my phone, so I am scared to apply this.

    Also how do you turn it on? Do you have an icon or widget that you can use to turn it off/on or do you have to go into the settings/wifi menu each time to enable/disable it?
     
  18. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    225
    15
    38
    it has an icon you open and just click the big wireless icon thats siting in the middle of it.
     
  19. bllester

    bllester Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    Unable to start tethering....
     
  20. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    225
    15
    38
  21. retnuh

    retnuh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    To those of you that have this working, how do your download/upload speeds compare to when you are utilizing your phone as a modem with a USB tether?
     
  22. bword

    bword Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    261
    6
    56
    manufacturing
    CT
    keeps saying unable to start tethering, on app...=(
     
  23. chadbobb

    chadbobb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    It's not letting me install it because I haven't enabled sideloading of apps.

    Do I need to put that .zip file on the phone and then restart the phone in the recovery mode? what does this modify to the kernel?
     
  24. myoung84

    myoung84 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    I am also unable to start tethering, I get the "Unable to start tethering. Please try again!" error. I have "Unleash The Beast update.zip" installed and have enabled sideloading in the terminal emulator.

    What else can I try?
     
  25. saintdanbert

    saintdanbert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    157
    3
    36
    writer, educator, adult trainer
    Austin, TX USA
    It seems that the only way to use this app is to have a root-ed phone. It doesn't seem to work if I side-load tha app. I'm confused and disappointed.

    On my olde park-it-pc, win-doze mobile phone I fetched a CAB file,
    did the install dance, and viola -- a hot spot.

    hoping for advice and encouragement,
    ~~~ 0;-Dan
     

Share This Page

Loading...