1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General turned off Sense UI, got a faster eris

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by blacklabel1783, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. blacklabel1783

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    12
    2
    16
    was debating of returning my eris b/c is was so laggy at some points. googled turning off sense ui. i tried it and i am getting a much better response from my phone now. even after a manual update of the OS, it was still laggy as before. if you don't mind not having sense, it is great. has anyone tried this? i haven't been running w/o sense for a while and about to go to bed, but i will try more apps tomorrow. don't know if this has been covered.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    925
    129
    113
    ChiTown
    one of the main selling points to getting the eris over the droid is having the sense UI. if you don't want it, get a droid.
     
  3. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    878
    34
    78
    Pro Desk Driver
    Myrtle Beach SC
    ^The Moto Droid is a much larger form factor. There is no comparison in that regard.
     
  4. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    925
    129
    113
    ChiTown
    nowhere in this thread is "form factor" being mentioned. so..........?
     
  5. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    878
    34
    78
    Pro Desk Driver
    Myrtle Beach SC
    The fact that I have to explain this is telling.

    You said:
    Another main selling point is form factor, therefore, telling someone to get a Moto Droid instead of the Eris based on your "main selling point" comment is ridiculous as there are clearly other reasons to own an Eris besides Sense UI.

    A little clearer for you now?
     
  6. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    263
    2
    36
    how do you turn off the sense UI and can you turn it on or off
     
  7. 88rich88

    88rich88 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    31
    0
    15
    Go to settings/applications/sense UI then clear defaults and force stop then hit the home button and choose Home when given the option.
    you can then set it as default if you want to. And yes you can turn it off or on.
     
  8. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    263
    2
    36
    another question it is harmful to turn off the sense UI also i can switch back and will be settins be the same
     
  9. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    315
    14
    38
    USAF
    California
    Is this more resource-effective than simply running the Home Switcher app to set the vanilla 1.5 as your default home? Even if your method squeezes more speed from the Eris, anyone considering this should download Home Switcher first because the vanilla 1.5 android is pretty blah, IMHO. Of course, your proprietary HTC apps are still working. People is still exactly the same and it runs in the background and gives you the same notifications.
     
  10. blacklabel1783

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    12
    2
    16
    If I had wanted a phone with a cramped dedicated kb and form factor that i hate, then I would have gotten a droid
     
  11. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    im good on this, sense is worth the very nominal (and i have tried it) speed up that comes from not using it.
     
  12. DroidDoessense

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Droid allready does sense UI. Eris is only a nock off of the hero lol, Dont get me wrong good little phone but not in droids league sorry.
     
  13. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    How does moto droid do sense ui?

    judging by your username, postcount, you may be just a t.....um.....well.....you know :)
     
  14. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    x2

    Droiddoessense + 1 post = Epic fail
     
  15. johnLEE

    johnLEE Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    67
    0
    35
    sense ui is a product of HTC!
     
  16. spartan141

    spartan141 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    452
    61
    73
    ehh i thought everyone got along on this forum;)
     
  17. onion

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    162
    0
    35
    Tried it.

    I dont see any speed increase in menus, apps, ect.

    Going back to Sense UI.
     
  18. pdragon

    pdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Be nice guys.

    You're right, though, Droid does not have the SenseUI. There are themes that can make any stock Android device very much like SenseUI, though.
     
  19. blacklabel1783

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    12
    2
    16
    Haha. I thought the whole world got along. Peeps love to talk smack when they can't be touched.
     
  20. cevMkV

    cevMkV Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    122
    9
    36
    Johnstown, PA
    this may be a dumb question, but what does it look like when sense UI is turned off?
     
  21. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    263
    2
    36
    it looks crappy.
     
  22. DroidDO

    DroidDO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    92
    1
    16
    It looks pretty much exactly like the Droid....

    [​IMG] VS [​IMG]
     
  23. cevMkV

    cevMkV Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    122
    9
    36
    Johnstown, PA
    i kinda feel like that may be cool...
     
  24. alexhendershott

    alexhendershott Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    103
    2
    36
    Graphic and Web Designer
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I turned off Sense but I still had a black notification bar. How did you make yours white?
     
  25. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    315
    14
    38
    USAF
    California
    Since the Droid has been rooted, someone could install Eclair for Hero. I wonder how well that works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...