1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support turning 4g on makes evo very laggy. please help.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mooretime, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. mooretime

    mooretime Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Hi everyone,

    Hope you are having a good weekend. Posting from my evo using 3g. Im using 3g because enabling 4g makes my phone very slow and unusable. The only way i can get it to work again is to restart my phone.

    Does anyone know what is causing this? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    Can you install a CPU usage app and tell me what your CPU usage is while it's laggy?

    I suggest SeePU or Android System Info. I have an issue where my phone gets laggy during use, and I decided to install a CPU usage monitor. Sure enough, something is causing my CPU usage to jump to 100%, and it stays there no matter what I do (except a reboot).

    4G could be involved in my issue as well. I can't rule this out yet as I am not sure if I was in 4G each time it happened.

    Here's my thread about the problems I am having:

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-support-troubleshooting/203542-100-cpu-usage-but-doesnt-add-up.html
     
  3. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    OK, I am almost certain that 4G is causing my 100% CPU issue.

    Today, I was using the Break app with 3G but that was too slow for me, so I went and turned on 4G.

    In the 30 seconds it takes for 4G to turn on completely, I received a call and began talking. During the call, I noticed my CPU usage at 100% again. After the call ended, it didn't drop at all. I had to reboot.

    I think I have the same issue as you...and I will update my thread with the content of this thread.

    I am going to factory reset this weekend, and if that doesn't fix it, I am sending it in to get repaired under the TEP.
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    i am curious if you guys trie a 4g toggle from the market if the issue remains.

    something with the toggle itself seems to be causing issues.

    i tried a 4g toggle yesterday that a dev posted on the main page and i get a quicker connection and no lag that i previously got with the stock toggle and menu start
     
  5. ChrisMuzz

    ChrisMuzz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Same problem EVO Android 2.2
    The lag is terrible, almost to the point of locking my phone up, and continues to a lesser degree even when 4G is turned off..

    So I pay an extra $10 a month for a service that makes my handset work worse? That doesn't make any sense.
     
  6. rkkeller

    rkkeller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    588
    105
    93
    The Dog Pound.
    It is fine on my EVO and I notice no difference with it on or off.

    Have any of you hacked or rooted your phones?
     
  7. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    I noticed that my phone would lag when enabling 4G with the widget, while unrooted and now that I am rooted. It won't speed up after a while either, I'd have to turn it off and reboot my phone. I too would like a solution to this.
     
  8. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    425
    58
    53
    No, I am not and never have.
     
  9. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    425
    58
    53
    I believe it is the widget. I turned on 4g from the settings menu and so far the phone is running fine.

    WEIRD!!!
     
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    i.have.droid many users have experienced the lag even when turning it on that way. I have been a believer that the widget plays apart...others feel it is not true.


    The subject of the fee has been beat to death. It isn't a 4g fee. It is a premium data fee based off the average user with these phones would use more data than other phone users. There were no secrets when buying the phone...it's pretty clear cut and dry that by choosing the phone you will incur the additional $10/ month fee


    also for those of you that have not seen this thread check it out. I don't know that it will help with the lag...but it sure helps with the lag associated with connecting to 4g

    [GUIDE - YMMV] Connect to 4G sooner & stay on longer - xda-developers
     
  11. ncfastls1

    ncfastls1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    48
    3
    16
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    I just replied in a topic right on this first page about the same subject but I hope this will clear everything up so people stop making 20 topics on the same subject.

    I'm 99.9% sure it is the stock HTC 4G toggle widget. I used to get the horrible lag when 4G was on and even after I turned it off, would have to reboot the phone to fix it. Then I stopped using the toggle widget to turn it on, instead doing it through wireless settings. Ever since then, I have not once experienced the horrific lag. Phone performance is no difference with 4G on or off, other than pages loading faster of course. Using the toggle widget to turn it off does not seem to cause any problems, hasn't for me at least.
     
    damink23 likes this.
  12. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    425
    58
    53
    It's a forum about phones. Most people do not live here so you are going to see multiple topics on commin issues sometimes. That is just how it goes.

    But I agree 100%, it is the widget...how? I have no idea..it makes zero sense. But it has been 24 hours of 4G for me activated through the settings menu with zero slowdown or issues. I am glad I can use the phone how it was intended.

    Now if they could only make better batteries!!!
     
  13. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    396
    64
    53
    Turn the 4G off and on again about 20 times and tell me it doesn't happen again through settings instead of the widget. :p
     
  14. rswank

    rswank Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Sustained 100% CPU immediately after enabling 4G via the system settings.
    Widget is a red herring.

    Has anyone spoken with Sprint or HTC?
    This is ridiculous.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...