1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Turning my phone into a WiFi Hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by secrecyguy, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #419
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    84
    3
    36
    I have a Samsung S3 with VirginMobile. I know in the past several years ago, you have to root the phone in order to make your phone into a WiFi Hotspot.

    I just wondering if this is still true? Can I make my phone into a WiFi Hotspot without rooting the phone? If so, how can I do it?

    The reason I ask, I am planning to get an Android tablet. I am going to end up getting a off brand Android tablet.

    Thanks for any help! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,892
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    3,892
    1,053
    423
    It depends. I believe some networks attempt to remove the tethering functionality from subsidised phones - hence the need for rooting - however vanilla Android supports it natively. On my Nexus 4, it's:

    Settings .. More (under Wireless & Networks) .. Tethering & portable hotspot

    I guess the precise options will be slightly different with the S3, but it should be something similar.

    Note that, even if the option is available on the phone, some networks will block tethered network traffic if your data contract excludes tethering (most do as it's usually a chargeable add-on). There are various threads on here that describe work arounds for this, mostly involving some kind of spoofing to make the network think your PC/Tablet/Whatever is actually your phone.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    ^Yeah on the s3 thats exactly where it should be :thumbup:
    Test it before you buy the tab though because as Tuna says, some carriers block tethering.
    P.s, instead of buying an off-brand tablet, if 7" is big enough you should check out the 2012 nexus7. I got one recently for
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,919
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,919
    4,919
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Thread moved to forum dedicated to the phone ion question.

    ... Thom
     
  5. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    it looks like VZ along with others will be blocking free tethering when you upgrade to 4.3 :( I NEED tethering cause there is no wifi in the sticks where I spend my summers. My question: will rooting the phone allow me to tether the phone despite VZ policy?

    JM
     
  6. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #419
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    84
    3
    36
    I checked. It doesn't have that option.
     
  7. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #419
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    84
    3
    36
     
  8. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #419
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    84
    3
    36
    Yes, it will.

    But I don't want to root my phone though. Not an expert on rooting. You also run a risk that you may damage the phone by doing it.
     
    javamann likes this.
  9. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Ive read people say that the Foxfi wifi tether app does work on 4.3 even on verizon. Ive no idea if the app requires root though.
    Just rooting the s3 is very safe tbh. Its things you do after rooting that can cause problems :thumbup:
     
  10. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    Yeah! I've been skirting the issue for some time: I would like to root; but I'm afraid to because I don't think I know enough to be safe. But this tears it: I'm just going to have to do it to keep my sanity. As I've said before, I NEED tethering when I'm in PA and can't take chances on VZ good graces. Pointing me in the correct direction would be a great help,Fuzzy :) Please do...
     
  11. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Verizon all things root forum JM bro :thumbup:
     
    javamann likes this.
  12. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #419
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    84
    3
    36
    thanks! I check it out. :)
     
  13. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #419
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    84
    3
    36
    good thing I post this topic. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...