1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Turning screen on

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by alowen, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. alowen

    alowen Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    Hi all, i took delivery of my htc desire yesterday and so far so good. I had a hero previousley and loved that too.

    My question is: is it only the power button on top of the phone that activates the screen from sleep mode?

    Also, how do i get the weather widget location to update to my current location as i move around the county/country?

    Thanks in advance

    Al
     

    Advertisement

  2. solo170

    solo170 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    42
    4
    36
    Sydney
    far as i know yes thats the only way to unlock the phone from sleep.

    To answer your second question: Go to settings/ Accounts& Sync- and Under Manage accounts go into "Weather"/ Account settings/Update schedule/..
    This will allow you to update your weather every hour

    Hope that helps
     
  3. rtb35

    rtb35 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    521
    131
    93
    Yes the power button is the only button that will wake your phone from sleep mode.

    If you go into Settings > Location > and click Use wireless networks your weather widget should change location when you travel around,although in my experience it does not work every where.
     
  4. DesireMe

    DesireMe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    777
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    777
    78
    78
    Poker
    Strathaven
    I normally leave GPS on. If i've travelled somewhere, i just go to the weather widget and within a few seconds it will update to the current location.
     
  5. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    It will still find your location without having to keep gps on tho (although I do keep it on), it will use your network if no gps is available.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...