1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General tv streaming?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by foe84, Dec 26, 2013.

  1. foe84

    foe84 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    anybody have experience using the tf300t to stream to a tv? I dont have a smart tv, but a regular lcd. After searching, there are so many devices that do this but reviews are mixed. I just want something that will mirror what i have on my tablet to my tv. Suggestions greatly appreciated.

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. doniago

    doniago Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #124
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    514
    111
    113
    Male
    Finance
    Burlington, VT
    You posted to the wrong Transformer forum. I've asked a mod to move your thread accordingly.
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,091
    3,118
    Scotland
    Moved to the TF300 forum, thank you! :)
     
  4. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Works just fine with the tf300, as long as your TV has an HDMI input. Just buy a lead (micro HDMI to full HDMI) and you will see an exact replica of what is on your screen.
     
  5. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Same here. I just use a simple micro-HDMI to HDMI cable and it works like a champ! I use mine to watch movies all the time. :)
     
  6. tds73

    tds73 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    31
    2
    16
    Forgive me if I sound like a complete idiot, but I am when it comes to this tablet.
    I have tried to stream my comcast (cable provider) and some videos from a dog training site, but they will not play. I assume that it has something to do with the "player" , like maybe I need adobe flash, or something similar.
    So, my question is, what do I need to do? Change ROM or learn how and install adobe, or what?
    Maybe someone could lead me to the correct place to find what I need and how to do it. At this point, I am a little disappointed in my tablet, by that I mean I was hoping to fire it up and it would work for all my needs. Just being lazy. I am willing to take some time and get it set up right, so I don't end up having a $400 paper weight, it is just that these things sometimes end up consuming so much time since I am computer/tablet stupid. I would greatly appreciate any pointers/tips anyone is willing to share with me.
    I also hope this is not considered hi-jacking the thread, if so, sorry and please move to where it is appropriate.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    You do not "stream to the TV" as such. When you plug in the cable the TV just replicates what you have on the screen of your tablet. So can you stream these to your tablet or not?

    Android no longer supports flash but you can always Google search and find ways to sort it out. What browser are you using?
     
    tds73 likes this.
  8. tds73

    tds73 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    31
    2
    16
    I understand that hooking to the TV just "uses the TV as a large monitor" . I cannot stream to the tablet. I can google and try to figure out the best "fix" for this, just hoping someone might have some info or exactly where I should look for this so I am not spinning my wheels.
    I usually use Firefox, if that is what you were asking.

    After reading the original post again, I see that I probably should have just started a new post, looks like all they wanted to know is how to hook up to TV. My problems run deeper. :)
     
  9. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal

    They are working on ways around Chromecast so that you can stream content from your devices to your TV. Pretty sure Mirrorcast is another option. The options are out there. Just do a little digging. YouTube is a great place to look. XDA also has a great section for Chromecast. I have one and am getting ready to root it as soon as I get my USB OTG need for root. It should be in the mail very soon. Chromecast runs about $35. The others are a little bit more expensive.
     
    tds73 likes this.
  10. tds73

    tds73 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    31
    2
    16
    Sorry, I should have been more clear. Comcast is my cable provider. They have apps that are supposed to work for streaming my cable on an android device.

    I am looking right now for ways to improve my tablet. I do not use it very often since it seems to be slow and sluggish and gets frustrating. I usually just end up putting it down and going to the laptop. I have owned it for a year now and have not done anything special to it other than adding some apps.
    I am scared since I know very little about things like ROM, bootloaders, etc. Searching for what I should do to try and improve my tablet, but need instructions/how to for "idiots".
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,091
    3,118
    Scotland
  12. tds73

    tds73 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    31
    2
    16
    In the last couple hours I got my comcast to stream and also got adobe flash working on my tf300.

    Thanks guys for trying to help me out. I appreciate your time.

    I have decided to start a new post, if you get a chance please check it out and give me any feedback you may have.

    I am going to try to explain what I am looking to do in the post.
     

Share This Page

Loading...