1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

TVCatchUp goes live for Android!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Steve_R, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. Bunjiweb

    Bunjiweb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    258
    40
    43
    Gloucestershire, ENG
    Just managed to get it streaming and I have to say the quality is great (not perfect, but good!) It's comparable to the desktop browser version of TVC and certainly FAR superior to Yamgo or the old BeebPlayer live streams...

    Ben
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    The iphone one is great compared to yamgo. Hoping this to be as good.
     
  3. Bunjiweb

    Bunjiweb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    258
    40
    43
    Gloucestershire, ENG
    Looks basically the same as the iPhone app but browser based instead. Yamgo was a good substitution, but not a patch on TVC!
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Still can't load anything.

    Are you using the stock browser? if so would you mind giving me a quick round up of your settings please?

    At least that way, I can replicate them and when I finally do (or not) get on, I know its not my settings.

    Edit> Have you got a desire or a hero?
     
  5. sam0056

    sam0056 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    I have tried My player works fine here HTC legend and dolphin browser.
     
  6. tanbe174

    tanbe174 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    114
    11
    38
    can't load yamgo on my desire. I could a few days before.

    Site might be off or overloaded.
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Overloaded. I cant either.
     
  8. tanbe174

    tanbe174 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    114
    11
    38
    TVCatchup Mobile doesnt load on my phone when I chose HQ or LQ. Both doesn't work, I don't know why. Between i'm using wifi.
     
  9. Bunjiweb

    Bunjiweb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    258
    40
    43
    Gloucestershire, ENG
    I am using the stock browser on HTC Desire, what kind of settings do you need? everything is stock as ive only just got the Desire.

    Ben
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Mobile view
    block pop-ups
    open pages in overview


    Please? ;)
     
  11. tanbe174

    tanbe174 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    114
    11
    38
    Is that the settings you need to have ??? You aren't very clear on your post.
     
  12. Bunjiweb

    Bunjiweb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    258
    40
    43
    Gloucestershire, ENG
    Important stuff from my settings page reads as follows:

    Load Flash - Y
    Block pop-up windows - Y
    Mobile View - Y
    Enable Javascript - Y
    Open in Background - N
    Open pages in overview - Y
    Cache Size - 6mb
    Enable Plugins - Y
     
    SUroot likes this.
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Edited. I was asking what settings he had so I could check I had the same.
     
  14. tanbe174

    tanbe174 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    114
    11
    38

    did you try using 3G/HSPA ? I read on TVCatchup Mobile forum that it got problems working with wifi but it works fine on 3G/HSPA. I didn't try it but you might give it a go. Tell me if it works
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Excellent. Same as mine. thank you.
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I get the same error on wifi and H. I just wanted to get Bunjiweb's settings from him to cause he has had it working. If I replicate teh settings, I should then have a set up that works.
     
  17. Bunjiweb

    Bunjiweb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    258
    40
    43
    Gloucestershire, ENG
    I think that the issues people may be experiencing (if connecting by wifi) are mostly server/ISP side. The SA vs Mexico game has finished now so there's likely to be people logging off.

    Ben
     
  18. tanbe174

    tanbe174 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    114
    11
    38
    yeah, when i try connecting it comes with a message 'unable to connect to server'. Will try afterwards and see if it is because of overloading. If yes, will connect to TV 1h before kickoff next time :D
     
  19. Nodders

    Nodders Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    477
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    477
    50
    53
    Great quality - HD on Wifi, LD on 3G
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Still no joy. Anyone on an o2 UK branded desire?
     
  21. Drillbit

    Drillbit Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    Any way to get this outside of UK?
     
  22. ifb-online

    ifb-online Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    725
    52
    78
    Male
    Journalist and publisher
    Hemel Hempstead, UK
    Does Orange give you the full 7Mb/sec HSDPA mode? I didn't think so, but I could be wrong. If I'm right, your data rate over 3G might only be 384Kb/sec - which is rather slow for video streaming.

    Ian
     
  23. colrey

    colrey Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    137
    8
    36
    works fine on my htc desire through wifi, have not changed any settings,
     
  24. nijbuck

    nijbuck Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    Having same problem. Dolphin Browser - Yamgo works fine but getting server error on my home wifi. It's now 5:45pm and no football on!

    And I'm on unbranded Orange
     
  25. Stretlow

    Stretlow Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Ive got home and tried this..

    Its working fine on my desire through WIFI and after watching the Mexico /Southafrica game on yamgo, im astonished by the picture quality.

    However its hit and miss whether I can get it to work on H. Which is what ill need it to do:(
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...