1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Twist to capture not working.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by taylor91593, Feb 12, 2017.

  1. taylor91593

    taylor91593 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014

    Nov 9, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    The other day my phone kept opening the camera on its own, it would open, I would close it, and it would open again in a few seconds. I restarted it and it happened a few more times. It hasn't happened since but twist to capture is not working now. I've also had a problem with my camera focusing in a rebate app I use (won't focus at all) but works fine with regular camera app or snapchat. I've cleared the data/cache on the camera app and the Moto app. Any other ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
  3. taylor91593

    taylor91593 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014

    Nov 9, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    I just tried banging it on my hands and no change. But as far as screen rotation, all is working normal. So I'm not sure, if the accelerometer was stuck, would screen rotation still be normal, or would my screen not rotate as it should?
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    I know that this sounds cliched, but have you tried turning the feature off and then back on again?
     
  5. taylor91593

    taylor91593 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014

    Nov 9, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    Yeah, I've tried that. I even tried to do the "show me how" where they teach you to do it, and it doesn't work then either.
     
  6. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
    Do you have any other apps that control gestures that may be interfering? If you have to reset you can try, if you are verizon to use the Verizon software updater software on your PC. This will try to reset without completely wiping as a first measure before completely factory resetting.
     
    doogald likes this.
  7. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    The Verizon Software Repair Assistant is here: https://www.verizonwireless.com/support/knowledge-base-116950/

    One other thought - as it was described to me, the twist to start the camera gesture is made by holding the phone in portrait mode in your hand and then moving your hand as if it is opening a doorknob twice, just in case OP is not doing the gesture correctly.
     
  8. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
    also, does the flashlight chop gesture work? Or what camera app is the default? Maybe rest the camera default app.
     
    #8 legalkill, Feb 20, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2017
  9. taylor91593

    taylor91593 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014

    Nov 9, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    I have had the phone since October and I've used the twist to capture since I've had it, that's why it's driving me nuts it doesn't work. And yes, chop for flashlight works. I guess I'll have to try the software repair or factory reset.
     
  10. taylor91593

    taylor91593 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014

    Nov 9, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    I factory reset and it still doesn't work. :mad:
     
  11. legalkill

    legalkill Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    440
    82
    53
    GA
    If factory reset did not work, the other thing to try may be some app that uses the same sensor for that motion or an app that tests the sensor to prove defective for a warranty exchange.
     
  12. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,111
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,111
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Did you try running in Safe Mode disabling all apps you added without uninstalling them? If it works in Safe Mode the cause is an app that you added.

    ... Thom
     

Motorola Moto Z

The Motorola Moto Z launched in 2016 and in the US, was exclusive to Verizon as the "Moto Z Droid Edition." The phone was the first of its kind to feature "Moto Mods," accessories that attached to the back of the phone to expand functionality. The phone was joined by the more rugged Moto Z Force and mid-ranged Moto Z Play.

Share This Page

Loading...