1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support twlauncher fix????

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by isababa12, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. isababa12

    isababa12 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I recently got my Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate about 2 weeks ago.

    Everything's been running fine and I've been able to do some cool stuff.

    Last night, I felt I should download a virus protection system, so I downloaded AVG as it's a trusted software, but it kind of effed up my phone.

    It always pops up with the message

    Sorry!

    The com.sec.android.app.twlauncher process has stopped unexpectedly!

    And then it asks me to force close, and I do that. Once that happens, it pops me back to the last thing I was using. It was the AVG security scan, after that I felt that if I restarted my phone, it'd fix it. I did that, and I came to my main menu screen being COMPLETELY empty, besides the 4 default apps and the my background image of IU.

    I can make calls, I can search my contacts, I can text people, but the applications menu isn't working. When I open that, my phone asks me to force close the twlauncher.

    So does anyone else know how to fix this? I've been trying to read for a thread the past hour. All the threads I've read so far do not give instructions on how to fix it, and I see useless replies such as "just Factory Data Reset". I can't even access my settings, so I don't know how I'm to do that. Another thread I found on google, the guy had the same problem, and others had the same problem. The guy had his phone fixed by a friend, but didn't give any help and just kept to himself.

    So if there's a way to fix this, how?

    Is there a way to access my phone hard drive so I can clear the cache and uninstall the AVG app? Is there a way I can get a Samsung droid emulator on my phone so I can work my phone through the computer?

    Please, if there's anyway to fix this, tell me! I paid for a smartphone that's supposed to be computer-like phone, and now it's just a normal phone that can text and call.

    There's apparently a problem with the AVG Anti-virus app. But just to clear questions I did not install the infamous clock applications.

    :mad::mad::mad::mad::thinking::thinking::thinking::thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. olbriar

    olbriar  
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    18,627
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    18,627
    18,435
    2,013
    Male
    Land of Oz
    I've not used a virus protection app on my phone. I do hope you find a solution. Welcome to AF.
     
  3. firegold21

    firegold21 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    31
    0
    15
    You should be able to do a factory reset by powering off the phone, holding down the up and down volume keys, then pressing the power/wake up button. You get basically a BIOS screen where you can reboot the system, clear the cache and do a factory reset. Use the volume keys to navigate in the list, and the home key is 'enter.'

    I don't know if that factory reset differs from the "normal" one or not, but I'm pretty sure it'll do the trick. ;)
     
  4. silverspot

    silverspot Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    A factory reset should do the trick. I had to do just that when I installed an app that didn't play nice with my SF. It worked perfectly.

    The only downside is that you have to re-install all your apps as the factory reset cleans the phone back to out-of-the-box status.
     
  5. ChyAnnabanana

    ChyAnnabanana Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Did u find a soultion ?
    cauise this is happening to me right now
     
  6. stephanielovel

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hello....i've read your response to the error above....is there any way you can give step by step directions on how to do a factory reboot....the above instructions from another user were not helpful with my phone
     
  7. nunyazz

    nunyazz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    644
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    644
    90
    98
    <menu button> settings / Privacy / Factory Data Reset
     
  8. erol123444

    erol123444 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    i press menu button and there is task Manager and i cant select settings :S
     

Share This Page

Loading...