1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Two Epic Touches, wildly varying signals

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by concealer404, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. concealer404

    concealer404 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    21
    1
    36
    Fiancee and i got our Epic Touches on the same day from Amazon. Hers is white, mine is black.

    Hers loses the Sprint network CONSTANTLY and gives an error message that says "data roaming, charges may apply blah blah blah." I'm not worried about the charges, those are built into my plan. It doesn't seem to be negatively affected in terms of speed when it's roaming. (If anything, it's faster, as the Sprint network is GARBAGE out here.)

    What i don't understand is why hers would do this constantly, dozens of times a day, and mine might do it twice a week. Even if we're in the same room. I'll have no problems, and she'll just constantly lose it. Put the phones side by side on the table, same thing happens. Mine sticks strong, hers loses it.

    I've disabled the error message so it's seamless now, but it still bugs me a bit. We took the phone into the store on day 15, and of course they said they couldn't replace it and they would charge me to look at it because i declined insurance. This pissed me off a bit as well, since i'm fairly certain i was shipped a defective phone.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. bnardpolo

    bnardpolo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    14
    10
    18
    Try going into setting>about phone>system updates>update profile. This should help you out.
     
  3. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,200
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    36,200
    42,097
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    check the basebands, actually everything in About Phone. Seeing as one is white and one is black, they are not necessarily identical. It could be one of them has slightly newer firmware.
     
  4. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi

    Also update prl. That's the one for phone and profile is for data services I believe.
     
  5. concealer404

    concealer404 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    21
    1
    36
    Thanks guys... phones are 100% identical in the "about phone" section.

    Profiles and PRL updated on both phones, we'll see what happens. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...