1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Two new programs that transformed my droid and my comments & ?s

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dab290, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. brettlewis

    brettlewis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    864
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    864
    49
    68
    Arizona
    Love home++ but think a notification/status bar widget would be awsome to replace the ugly one up top. I have mine closed in home++ but sometimes dont notice I missed something cause its hidden. The led is all i got to tell me something happened. If there was a notification widget that would be sweet.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Wakey

    Wakey Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    147
    1
    56
    For the first time since launch my battery died last night. Many times I go to bed listening to podcasts and this has never happened before.

    Earlier yesterday I deleted absolutely everything off my stock homepage and also went up to 7 screens on Home++ BETA.

    Interesting..
     
  3. n0m0n

    n0m0n Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    156
    0
    35
    YES
    HERE
    Ok I post ed this already but no one commented.
    I was using GDE for a bit and installed Home++ after reading this thread.
    I was wondering if the was a setting that needed to be set (and to what) so that the screens moved more smoothly?
    Its choppy and and as fast as GDE or the Home default.

    thanks
     
  4. tsaunders

    tsaunders Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    419
    25
    43
    Mine hasn't been choppy.

    Have you played with the preferences for Home++
     
  5. n0m0n

    n0m0n Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    156
    0
    35
    YES
    HERE
    Im looking for a option do you know if there is or where it would be?
     
  6. esocid

    esocid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    122
    4
    56
    Not worth mentioning
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I moved to Home++ when it came out, after trying Panda. I really love it, and it it just works well.
    Handcent I like, over the stock and Chomp. It seems a little buggy at times, but I'm willing to use it still.
     
  7. tsaunders

    tsaunders Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    419
    25
    43
    Make sure you have the latest version of the app.

    Under Menu --> Preferences --> Screen Preferences --> Wallpaper Scroll --> I turned this off

    I also only have 4 screens

    I also don't use persistent home.
     
  8. n0m0n

    n0m0n Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    156
    0
    35
    YES
    HERE
    What do you mean by this?

    Thanks
     
  9. tsaunders

    tsaunders Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    419
    25
    43
    It's a new option in the updated Home++

    Persistent Home:
    Back home faster, but may reduce overall system performance.
     
  10. gregroberti

    gregroberti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    Home++ is a godsend. I have not looked for a replacement GDE, but I checked this out this morning and it blew me away. Like people are saying, there needs to be a better way for notifications to show when the top bar is hidden.

    I have not set Home++ as default since I don't know how I would change it back if I decided I wanted to. Does anyone know where in the settings you select which GDE to use? I'd like my phone to stop asking me which Home screen I would like to use.
     
  11. tsaunders

    tsaunders Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    419
    25
    43
    Menu --> Settings --> Applications --> Home++ --> reset defaults
     
  12. troybal

    troybal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    41
    0
    15
    I have been using DxTop as my home App and been somewhat happy! At times it is laggy but I just kill apps I am not using.

    I also use Handcent SMS however when I get a SMS Message I get it in two locations. One in Handcent and the other in the default SMS application. Cant seem to figure out how to shut the other one down or make this one default for good (even though I choose as default).

    As for Home++ I just downloaded it and applied it as my default home but it is choppy when moving between screens. I have to move my finger a few times versus one swoop in the default/DxTop home. Killed all the apps but still same issue.

    I can change home apps quickly by using the application called "Home Switcher" made by "YMST" so it is easy to do :)
    So I can go between DXTop, Home++ and the Droid Default without any issues. (Or should I say very simple!)

    I am still using Android 2.0 and would love to have 7 home screens! But still want it to run smoothly. For now I am going to stick with DxTop unless someone can point out why I can move between my home screens in Home++ more fluently.

    Another thing I like about DxTop as I have a Set number of Icons (5) Phone, contacts, Email, Gmail and Handcent that stays constant at the bottom of the screen, no matter which 4 home screens I go to in DxTop so that is a big time bonus!
     
  13. tsaunders

    tsaunders Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    419
    25
    43
    I have read that having multiple home apps can slow other ones down.

    One thing that was recommended with Home++ was to clear all widgets from the default home, in essence the device is running all the homes at once so it's running the widgets multiple times.
     
  14. Mercutio

    Mercutio Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    66
    0
    15
    Home++ runs much more smoothly than does default home, for me. Cleared all Widgets off default home, made a difference.
     
  15. troybal

    troybal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    41
    0
    15

    Yeah I had heard the same so before installing DxTOP I cleared all my widgets etc.. from my default Home. My DxTop is full so I just loaded Home++ on top and ran that one without adding any widgets etc.. and got the lagginess moving between screens. When I go back to DxTop it works like it did prior to adding Home++. So I felt that it should not have mattered. If DxTOP lagged as well after Home++ I may have deleted all the widgets etc... to test it out but it did not lag on me.
     
  16. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,622
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,622
    289
    163
    Get the free app Home Switcher...it will display all home screens that are installed on your system, allow you to set which is the default home screen, and launch whichever of the installed home screens you'd like to launch. It's a godsend...great little program.
     
  17. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,622
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,622
    289
    163
    I've had about three Home++ force close/wait messages since installing the 2.01 update.

    Anyone else?
     
  18. n0m0n

    n0m0n Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    156
    0
    35
    YES
    HERE
    Widgets and or applications?
    All ?
     
  19. iHEART_android

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    stay at home wife :)
    Panama City, Fl
    Ok there is a option to use handcent sms as the default program (this way you wont get double notifications) I dont believe there is a away to turn off the notifications yet .. and regarding hiding the default messenger app the only way to hide the application can ONLY be done by rooting .. a root has been discovered already but not much else has been done yet (not custom roms or themes at the moment) I doubt that since the root is so new you would find away to not show notifications for email or sms.. It will take a very talented person to disable this
     
  20. Mercutio

    Mercutio Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    66
    0
    15
    Widgets only.
     
  21. scheng12

    scheng12 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    115
    1
    36
    Before 2.0.1 I had no problems with handcent importing my facebook pictures into the app. When I updated this stopped happening but they already have an updated one that "supports" 2.0.1. I'm downloading it now so I'll see if it has facebook picture import.
     
  22. SirVilhelm

    SirVilhelm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    280
    3
    36
    Just disable the default SMS app to not show notifications. That is what I did to stop seeing SMS notifications from the default app.
     
  23. Jason8

    Jason8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    I downloaded Home++ but uninstalled it after it seemed to have trouble going to landscape mode. It would go landscape unless I had the qwerty out...

    anybody else have that problem??
     
  24. Gunner

    Gunner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    660
    90
    78
    I have also definitely noticed my battery draining faster since installing Home++. For example, went to bed last night w/ phone @ 100%. Woke up and it was at 60%. Typically, I would wake up and it'd be at 90%. I have everything cleared off of the default Home screen also.
     
  25. Brynk

    Brynk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    39
    0
    15
    It would go landscape unless I had the qwerty out...


    Install/keep Dockrunner loaded and you have full landscape access which I like because the keyboard is bigger
     

Share This Page

Loading...