1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Two problems I am having wth my Incredible....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NickBaragona, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. NickBaragona

    NickBaragona Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    155
    7
    36
    Landscape view no longer works. If I turn the phone sideways in the browser, or when viewing a pic I took, nothing happens. Also, when i hook my phone up to my PC, I no longer have the option to Mount it. Any idea why this would be?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Be sure that these are still enabled.

    From the home screen:
    USB Connect: Menu -> Settings -> Connect to PC -> Check Ask me

    Orientation: Menu -> Settings -> Sound & Display -> Check Orientation
     
    tzoller and NickBaragona like this.
  3. NickBaragona

    NickBaragona Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    155
    7
    36
    Wow that fixed the orientation..I wonder how it would have became unchecked? Still cant seem to mount my phone though with my PC..it charges it, but there is no option to mount. Could it be the cable I'm using?
     
  4. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
    It's very possible that you downloaded an app that changed the setting for some reason. Try to think of an app that you downloaded around the same time that you noticed orientation stopped working. Then remove it and reinstall it to see if the same thing happens. Would make for a good bug report for the developer.

    Are you not getting the option in the notification bar (top of the screen)? Also, are you using the stock cable? I doubt it's the cable because I'm currently using a third-party cable and it's connected to me computer as I type.
     
  5. NickBaragona

    NickBaragona Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    155
    7
    36
    I am using a cable that came with my PS3 bluetooth headset. And when I connect my Incredible to my PC, there is no option in the notification bar.
     
  6. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Try using a different cable. Preferably the one that came with your phone.
     
  7. NickBaragona

    NickBaragona Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    155
    7
    36
    Yeah, I'll try to find it. I always left it connected to my Laptop. I went to visit my mother, and it mysteriously disappeared after she used my Laptop...
     
  8. NickBaragona

    NickBaragona Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    155
    7
    36
    Would I have to go to the Verizon store to get another one? I hate dealing with those lines. It just doesnt make sense, why would it charge the phone, but not be capable of mounting it?
     
  9. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
    I do not believe it's the cable. I think it's something software-wise. I would not buy another cable. Maybe you can go to a Verizon store and test with one of their cables. Be prepared to bring a laptop with you if you do this. They_will_not allow you to mount your phone on their in-store computers.
     
  10. NickBaragona

    NickBaragona Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    155
    7
    36
    Should I try to Format my phone?
     
  11. joeybcdt

    joeybcdt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    22
    0
    15

    Here's my situation:
    HP laptop Win 7 Pro: Mounts perfectly
    Asus laptop Win 7 Pro: Will not mount but will charge.
    Dell server Win Server 2003: Will not mount but will charge.
     
  12. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Absolute last resort only. Try different USB calbes first. Then try Verizon tech (In-Store)
     
  13. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
  14. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    585
    140
    113
    Male
    Electromagnetic Field Engineer
    Pacific Beach / Crown Point, San Diego
    Is the vzw/droid software on each computer?
     
  15. sabrewings

    sabrewings Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    895
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    895
    104
    93
    Avionics
    What is the original purpose of the cable with the PS3 bluetooth headset? If it was used to charge it, then that cable is probably only meant to charge and has no data wiring in it.
     
    necosino likes this.
  16. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
    To my knowledge, this is not needed. I don't use it on my work computer running WinXP.
     
  17. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    585
    140
    113
    Male
    Electromagnetic Field Engineer
    Pacific Beach / Crown Point, San Diego
    Admin rights? Just seems like its not being recognized.
     
  18. rubbersoul

    rubbersoul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    39
    4
    16
    check the device manager in windows and see if the drivers are up to date. if not, correct that and see if it fixes your problem. it could be that one system successfully installed the device drivers and the others haven't.
     
  19. najaboy

    najaboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    390
    68
    53
    For the OP, it's a very simple problem. As has been stated, the culprit is the cable. A bluetooth headset charging cable cannot transfer data and is only good for charging. Since there is no means of transferring data, the phone is not going to be able to mount as a drive.
     
    Sharondippity likes this.
  20. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Careful now. That was said as an idea/suggestion. Not as a definitive answer. We will not know the answer until the OP has tested with a different cable.
     
  21. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Can you clarify please?
     
  22. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    717
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    717
    192
    93
    Burbs of Chicago
    Do you have double twist installed? If so, that's the problem
     
  23. joeybcdt

    joeybcdt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    I do not have Double Twist.

    I have admin rights to all pc's.

    I uninstalled HTC sync from the pc that works. It gave me issues with pdaNet. I never installed htc sync on any other pc. What other vzw/droid software is there?

    How do I check the drivers in Device Manager?
     
  24. elwray

    elwray Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    328
    21
    58
    Environmental
    Central NJ
    Have you tried different USB ports with the same cable you have problems with? I recently had my phone stop mounting to my work computer via the monitor hub, just charged. Switched to a port on the PC itself and it worked. I would have investigated further, but with so many USB ports to choose from, it wasn't really bothering me.
     
  25. najaboy

    najaboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    390
    68
    53
    Here's the thing. The cable he's using right now 100% precludes data transfer. It's a relatively safe assumption that's his problem. If only pins 1 and 5 are used and pins 2, 3, and 4 are null, which is the case with a PS3 BT headset charging cable, it is physically impossible for that cable to be used to mount the phone as a drive.

    It's much the same as wondering why a car won't run if it's out of gas... sure, there may be a secondary cause, but the simplest solution is more often than not the correct one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...