1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Two questions---root without activating, restore apps/system data?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by atrain2324, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. atrain2324

    atrain2324 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    63
    3
    16
    Co-founder, Chief Head, Chief Editor/Publisher, Mu
    After giving up on saving my old Optimus V, I went ahead and called VM and they have a replacement unit that'll be in my hands sometime today! I wouldn't be shocked if it had someone else's MSID and ESN numbers on it and that it's running 2.2.2 and that new radio firmware...

    I got two questions.

    1. Can you root the device without activating first?
    2. This is related to the first. The reason I want to root it first is to delete the bloatware, install Link2SD and then install Titanium Backup and restore my apps and data (I backed up everything). Can you do that, or is it not good to overwrite say, the existing edition of Gmail with the one in my backups because it's a system app?

    Any feedback, advice and/or suggestions would be great!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kwknott

    kwknott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,519
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    1,519
    729
    253
    Yes you can root the device before activating it but if you are going to be activating it at a later date you will need to be on the stock rom or one of the Froyo based custom roms (Harmonia or Resurrected Bumblebee) because the gingerbread based rom's don't have the activation app.

    It is never a good idea to restore a backup of a system app or it's data. I would wait till you activate phone or put it on wifi and let the system apps update through the market.
     
  3. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Also Android gives you the option of backing up the data of Google system apps to the cloud, and will restore themselves after you sign into your Google account after a fresh flash.
     
    kwknott likes this.
  4. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    You should activate before your root just sign in to google with your current account and like brother said it will restore everything for each Google app to the information it was last time it synced.
     
  5. atrain2324

    atrain2324 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    63
    3
    16
    Co-founder, Chief Head, Chief Editor/Publisher, Mu
    Done. I did everything I needed to do. I tried to undo dalvik-cache integration into ROM from Titanium Backup Pro and now I am stuck in the Android boot loop.

    I am obviously rooted, still on stock ROM. I can access the Android stock recovery.

    What do I do?
     
  6. atrain2324

    atrain2324 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    63
    3
    16
    Co-founder, Chief Head, Chief Editor/Publisher, Mu
    forgot. i rooted using gingerbreak 1.2. i have froyo 2.2.2 and do not have the new VM firmware either.
     
  7. Phatninja55

    Phatninja55 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012

    Jan 26, 2012
    766
    219
    123
    Male
    Illinios
    You could apply the new update, to fix the boot loop. Then you could root it and install a recovery with gordita root.
     
  8. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    That could introduce other issues. Do you plan on sticking with the stock Rom? If so, then it's a good plan. If you want to go with custom firmware (like BACKside or Harmonia) then just flash the new Rom, clear dalvik and cache, and you're done.
     
  9. atrain2324

    atrain2324 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    63
    3
    16
    Co-founder, Chief Head, Chief Editor/Publisher, Mu

    I thought the new update would brick phones already rooted with Gingerbreak 1.2?

    I will consider it at a later time, but in the meantime, I would like to be able to get my phone back and running again without hopefully having to reapply slightly dated backups from TU on my external hard drive.

    Would a factory reset work though inside the stock recovery.

    I never installed a custom recovery, I am content at the moment to having a rooted stock ROM for now (until CM9 goes GB) and I am able to get into stock recovery with the key combination.
     
  10. atrain2324

    atrain2324 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    63
    3
    16
    Co-founder, Chief Head, Chief Editor/Publisher, Mu
    That is affirmative. I would like to keep things as is before I undid sys integration of the dalvik-cache, which I won't do ever again.
     
  11. atrain2324

    atrain2324 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    63
    3
    16
    Co-founder, Chief Head, Chief Editor/Publisher, Mu
    essentially i would like to kick it off by being able to get past the loop and resume doing whatever i was doing with my V before that in-hindsight boneheaded move. I would hate to have to call VM and again and have Sprint send me another refurbished unit from Indianapolis...
     
  12. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Let's hope we can get you problem fixed. I sure wouldn't want you to go and do something dishonest.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...