1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Two random questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ghxost, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. ghxost

    ghxost Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    85
    7
    16
    Ok, so I've flashed a handful of roms, and a few kernels. I always give it a few days to get used to it. I've found the Destroyer v2 rom with SavagedZen-0.2.0-CFS-HAVS-WiMAX-GB-noSBC-signed gives me fantastic battery life. EVERY other rom/kernel combo I try, I can just sit and watch the battery drain, including stock, with nothing running except what boots with the phone. Why is this one rom the only one that works so well? I am not using any other programs with it, does it have something built into it that makes it different?? Tried both sense and aosp roms, no difference except destroyer. I used my phone all day, still have 61% battery left. Other roms, I just sit and watch the battery drop doing nothing, like 1 percent a minute or more.

    2nd question. I see on AOSP roms that the fix for the gps is to flash into a sense rom, do the fix, and flash back. Where is the information stored, if you are flashing a different rom and kernal, and wiping the phone, how can this 'fix' possibly stick around through all of that?? Is it hidden deep in the phone somewhere? I don't get it...

    Thanks for the info, you guys all rock!
     

    Advertisement

  2. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    583
    213
    Male
    Answer 1 some phones are very picky, what works for me could kill the battery on your phone and vice versa, every savage zen kernel I try makes my phone either go into a boot loop or it will randomly start rebooting.

    Answer 2 it is stored very low on the chain just like how the custom splash screen don't change when you wipe and flash ROMs
     
    ghxost likes this.
  3. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    nor the standard splash screen for that matter lol
     
  4. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Also correct me if im wrong but the instruction is to restore an aosp nandroid after a gpsclrx not to flash or wipe anything...
     
  5. ghxost

    ghxost Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    85
    7
    16
    I thought you always had to wipe before restoring a nandroid when going between roms, is this not correct? Since a nandroid doesn't always include the cache etc, so it wont overwrite that between restores and needs to be cleared to work correct?
     
  6. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    216
    16
    58
    IT Specialist
    Missouri
    Wiping the cache and ALSO the dalvik cash is usually sufficient.
     
  7. ghxost

    ghxost Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    85
    7
    16
    Those are the two I wipe when restoring a nandroid or when flashing a new kernel. Glad I am doing it right ;)
     
  8. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    There is actually much debate here some people say a wipe before a nandroid restore is entirely unecessary, i always said it cant hurt. Most nandroids include cache, it was always default until ra 2.3. I still back mine up i also run dalvik from there though. You still of course need to wipe between flashing different roms.
     
  9. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    900
    234
    93
    SF
    you can nandroid without wiping. I always wipe though. I have done the gps clear, wiped and then nandroid to aosp and it worked. gps is never AS acurate as a sense rom, but it is very close. at home on aosp it always sees me on the wrong side of the street, but sense will be spot on.

    as for #1, destroyer v1 and v2 have had the worst battery life of just about any rom for me... lol.

    either your phone really likes that rom/kernel setup or you have experienced bad wipe, bad installs or or bad restore of old apps. 1% per minute doing nothing is not normal.

    do you use calkulin's format all zip? after all the bad installs I have had I now always wipe manually and then run calkulins format all zip twice. I then only restore apps, no data.
     
  10. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    if you are running clockwork it backs up EVERYTHING lol at least 2.6+ (2.5- didnt back up wimax rsa keys) no need to wipe there it will overwite everything. If you are running Ra 2.2- it was default and is backed up unless you unchecked it. In most cases a wipe before a restore would be unecessary.

    That all being said, if you arent backing up cache, try restoring a back up without cache and not wiping before and see what happens, hell i'll try it lol. Whats the worst that happens, no boot, recovery, wipe cache and dalvik and boot...? restore a different nandroid?

    Dont get me wrong im a big proponent of wipe, wipe, and wipe again, just saying per the instructions if read literally i dont believe it says to wipe...
     
  11. ghxost

    ghxost Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    85
    7
    16
    Yea, for my bad battery life, I was manually wiping (ra 2.3 i think, the newest one) then using Kings format all since I was flashing kings roms, then flashing the rom. After a few days of horrid battery life, I'd try another kernel. I'm not restoring any apps or settings, as I do not have any at all that I really need. The Evo is still pretty new to me, so I am always fine just using a rom as is, and just downloading a game or two, lol.

    I guess I need to try the calkulins after a manual wipe instead of kings, even though they are king roms. Worth a shot? I guess I can also start playin with setcpu, haven't installed anything for cpu or power saving up to this point though.

    Thanks for the comments guys (and gals?)

    I do like the destroyer rom and all, but I would like to find a sense rom that will actually let my phone last more then 3 hours...
     
  12. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Wow 3 hours? really? Impressive. There is an entire thread about bad battery life on here. It was akaza working with someone, you may want to check it out.

    I cant imagine kings format all and calkulins would be different. What does kings wipe? Its not like the tool is actually doing the wiping its just instructing the revovery to wipe all at once rather than manual multiple steps. Calkulins I believe wipes BSDC...i cant remember exactly though. BSDC will cover everything though technically.

    SetCPU may help a little if you just create a screen off profile at 245, 245. If your battery life is really that bad I would check out that thread, might be something useful in it...?
     
  13. ghxost

    ghxost Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    85
    7
    16
    I'll check that thread out, couldn't hurt, maybe I'll learn something :D
    Yea, like I said, on other roms, including stock, I can just sit and watch the battery drain about a percent a minute or more. I mean, I can almost understand it on the stock rom with all the bloat running, but on kings, and mik?
    With Destroyer, i use my phone moderately all day, and still have over 50% remaining when I hook it up to charge. I'm pretty happy with that, but am not overly thrilled being forced to use this one rom, since I never really got to give others a chance. But who knows, maybe I would have chosen this in the end eventually...
     
  14. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Well you will certainly learn something on that thread. Akaza is very knowledgeable and it goes on for 3 pages. The guy was having battery drain as bad as yours if not worse. Sadly for him it was on every rom and we stil havent found a fix but something in there might help you since you are OK on at least one rom.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...