1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

two sim cards

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by raf1919, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. raf1919

    raf1919 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    so i love my nexus but it lacks greatly behind blackberry in terms of basic calls.

    so what i end up doing when i work from home pop my sim into old blackberry.

    Anyone know if its possible to get 2 SIM cards so i can keep both phones in useable mode? would tmobile allow that or give another sim w/ the same number?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    i asked that before and its a big no.... i wanted one in my nexus and one in an unlocked shine so i can take it when i go play ball and stuff , so i dont ruin the nexus. but i was told no
     
  3. raf1919

    raf1919 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    damn. thanks for saving me the call though.
     
  4. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    give it a try and see what they say, i tried like a few months ago . let me know what they say
     
  5. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    Technology is there to clone SIM's, I do it all the time when trying to troubleshoot customer issues, however, for the masses, the official answer will be no.
     
  6. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    dammm, hook us up. lol
     
  7. Teknologic

    Teknologic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    969
    93
    98
    Male
    Belgium
    I used to have 2. I went to get my old SIM replaced and asked the lovely old lady who did it nicely and she didn't deactivate my old SIM and let me keep it. Just had to make sure one phone was off when the other was on.

    But then I switched carriers to get an affordable data plan for my Nexus =/

    I'm guessing this method for cloning SIMs is not something us 'mortals' can get an easy fix on.
     
  8. raf1919

    raf1919 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    i'll call them and see what i can do. maybe say that this might force me to break my contract.
     
  9. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    I wish, but this is a VERY strictly controlled process.

    No, not at all (at least, not legally). The controls in place to keep cloned SIMs out of the hands of people that should not have them are pretty strict and locked down pretty tightly.

    Honestly, not worth my job/career anyway. :p:p
     
  10. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    so maybe if i went into tmo and begged a rep it can be done?
     
  11. raf1919

    raf1919 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    77
    1
    16
    no dice. called local store and main 800#. was told its impossible.

    So on too doing it myself. is there DIY kit out there?? i have a spare sim card.
     
  12. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    V2 or later SIM cards are very difficult to copy as additional copy protection and anti tamper protocols have been added to the cards. A V2 card is anything made circa 2002 and later (this includes 3G cards). Any attempt to copy a V2 or newer card could result in the card being rendered utterly useless.

    There is a "breaker" in the card that will pop when tampered with, then the card is useless, no matter how much you try.

    We have special software/cards that are STRICTLY controlled that allow us to do these for testing ONLY. I highly doubt you will be ale to find a way to get this done without destroying the card.
     
  13. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    baaah humbug. lol
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...