1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root TWRP and CM7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by WormDoes, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Is anyone running TWRP and CM7 having a problem using the power menu to get to recovery? (hold power>reboot>recovery) I keep getting stuck at the white HTC splash screen. I like the look of the recovery, but if I can't simply boot into then back to CWM I go
     

    Advertisement

  2. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    That is why I am holding off for a bit. CWM is stable. I am not sure cleaned up menus and a bit of speed are worth giving up that stability. (sorry, scotty, lol). :p
     
  3. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    FWIW works on thunderbread 2.5
     
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I would hardly call not being able to use an add on feature that's convenient "unstable", but to each his own. You can still get to recovery by powering off and using vol -/+ and power to get to recovery or use adb. Plus rbox has already said he's looking into a fix for the power menu.

    I'm not sure I'm 100% sold on twrp recovery yet, but I'll give it some time to grow on me before making a decision
     
  5. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    Stable to me means all features work under normal circumstances--and I don't think they are there yet. Really, it sounds like it works freaking great for how long it has been in general release...which is really beta testing in this small world.

    Clockwork mod is on release 3 and is a three dot product (which may not mean much in such a limited milieu), so obviously they have had their share of issues. (Edit: I have only been around here for a month so my historical perspective is limited.)
     
  6. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i agree,unstable is not restoring or flashing properly. its still workin great for me. i had the same issue as work when i first flashed it,but mine was using the "reboot recovery" option within the recovery. i rebooted recovery 3 times or so and then it hung. since i was by the puter,i plugged it in and adb saw it,so i did adb reboot recovery and it came right back. so even tho it was hung on the splash screen,the phone wasnt frozen to the point it needed a battery pull.

    i only had that prollem that time,its been fine since,and the reboot/recovery option from power down has worked for me on cm7 and a5opth3ory.

    not tryin to convince everyone to jump ship,if your comfortable on clockwork stay there for a while,just reporing my experiences. :)

    worm,i havent read past page 5 or 6... has anyone mentioned the splash freeze on rootz?
     
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i just wanted to point out that there is some degree of luck in the fact that clockwork works so good for us. im not criticizing koush,since there is no way i could do a better job providing recoveries for many different phones i dont even own.

    but clockwork has had its share of issues,most notably it it destroyed the partitions with bad flashes and left a bunch of bricked eris's back in the day,and even more recently trying to restore a backup sent the charge into an almost unrecoverable bootloop :eek:

    having started my journey in rooted phones in eris land,ive always been a little leery of clockwork,and pretty much ALWAYS used alternate recoveries when available.(amon on my inc,raidzero on my OG droid)
     
  8. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I'm not sure if anyone else mentioned it, Scotty because i didn't read the entire thread (shhh, ;))
     
  9. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    oh snap! lol
     
  10. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Splash screen is being addressed, a few of us have had it. I did that batt pull but rhcp said that I could have done adb. It will be fixed. I did a nandroid with it yesterday after flashing back to bamf for gps, although it was the cm7 build that was borked. Nonetheless the restore worked just fine. I'd like to see some things added but I'll save it for the rootz thread. All in all, not bad. I like the reboot after successful flash as well as the single, wipe cache and dalvik option.
     
  11. WBMc36

    WBMc36 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    467
    52
    73
    Full time student
    Pittsburgh/Erie
    I am currently using it right now, ver 1.0.3 rbox1 that was posted yesterday. Had no problem from cm7 booting straight to recovery. I am making a backup right now and everything seems to be working fine. My flashing adventures for the day have begun. No turning back now.
     
  12. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I haven't tried the reboot after successful flash, but I really like the single wipe caches option too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...