1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root TWRP Dev

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hroark13, Jun 9, 2016.

  1. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    OK, so I tried to make a TWRP for this phone. I am not sure if this will work or not, but for those who are brave, you can try it.

    WARNING I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE DONE TO YOUR PHONE, USE AT YOUR OWN RISK

    Download this apk, copy it to you sd card and install it.
    https://www.mediafire.com/?8miz8yv8vxehpm8
    Get Temp Root with Kingo, don’t reboot
    Open the TWRP app from the app drawer
    Click Install Recovery (ONLY DO THIS ONCE, it backs up your current (stock) recovery partition to /data/media/0/recbak.img (internal storage), then it flashes the TWRP image to your recovery partition)

    IF YOU CLICK Install recovery 2 times or more, it will overwrite the backup of the stock recovery that we may need, so do not click Install recovery again, until you copy the recbak.img onto your computer for safe keeping

    Click Reboot Recovery

    At this point it may or may not boot into TWRP, I am not sure if the TWRP Image I made will boot or not
    If it does not boot, you will probably need to pull the battery out to reboot the phone back to Android

    I would also like for you to upload the recbak.img so I can have a copy of it


    I was able to access a Zmax 2 (ATT Go version)

    The boot loader is locked, the boot and recovery images need to be signed

    so no TWRP, CWM or Custom Kernels
     

    Advertisement

    #1 hroark13, Jun 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2016
  2. MyNinjaPenguin

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015

    Dec 11, 2015
    14
    11
    28
    Male
    Thanks, man! Should this work on all versions of ZMAX 2? I'm using the unlocked Z955A. I'm happy to be the one to test it, provided I can get my phone to do the temp root. So far, I've gotten "root fail" errors using Kingo PC. I'll keep trying.
     
  3. MyNinjaPenguin

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015

    Dec 11, 2015
    14
    11
    28
    Male
    Temp root worked; Clicked "Install Recovery" on TWRP app; it asked for root access which I granted, and the button turned yellow. How do I know when it's done? Do I wait for a while until it tells me, or should I just hit "Reboot Recovery" now?

    EDIT: Nevermind, it told me Success! Not finding any "recbak.img", though...
     
    #3 MyNinjaPenguin, Jun 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2016
  4. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    the recbak.img would be on the internal sd card if it worked, if it is not there, I would think there is no root
     
  5. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483
    ninja do you want to do a team viewer session
     
  6. MyNinjaPenguin

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015

    Dec 11, 2015
    14
    11
    28
    Male
    Give me another few minutes to poke around, and if I don't figure it out, then sure.

    EDIT: Crap, I don't have time right now. I'll have to continue working on this later today.
     
    #6 MyNinjaPenguin, Jun 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2016
  7. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483
    yeah, I am out of time myself, don't know if I will find any more time to work on this
     
  8. MyNinjaPenguin

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015

    Dec 11, 2015
    14
    11
    28
    Male
    Well, thanks for what you've done! I hope it will work.
     
  9. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483
    I was able to access a Zmax 2 (ATT Go version)

    The boot loader is locked, the boot and recovery images need to be signed

    so no TWRP, CWM or Custom Kernels
     
  10. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483
    also flashing the stock boot image to the recovery partition does not work

    so what you guys need to do is bother ZTE for a boot loader unlock
     
  11. Ang

    Ang Newbie
    Rank:
     #490
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013

    Sep 5, 2013
    16
    2
    26
    Male
    There isn't a way to unlock the boot loader?
     
  12. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483
    there is but ZTE has to release it to the public
     
  13. FameWolf

    FameWolf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015

    Dec 28, 2015
    17
    2
    26
    Male
    Can you point us where to go to politely request they provide instructions to unlock the bootloader?
     
  14. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    you can try ZTE Support


    https://www.google.com/#q=zte+support
     
  15. FameWolf

    FameWolf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015

    Dec 28, 2015
    17
    2
    26
    Male
    I have a feeling if they ever do find a bootloader unlock or system write unlock for the Axon 7 we will find the same method is used for the Z958.

    ZTE's reply:

    Dear Valued ZTE Customer

    Thanks for contacting ZTE.

    We are sorry to inform you that we do not support unlocking the bootloader and rooting the device.

    We apologize for the inconvenience

    Should there be further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Best Regards!

    My Reply:

    Well I'm glad you told me now. I was preparing to purchase an Axon 7 but will have to pick something else if you are not going to provide an unlocked bootloader so I can use a personal recovery to backup my phone. I'll make sure to spread the news in the forums since some people thought ZTE had stated they were going to provide an unlocked bootloader or unlocking method for the Axon_7.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...