1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root TWRP problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CaucasionJ, Jan 25, 2014.

  1. CaucasionJ

    CaucasionJ Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    175
    16
    38
    Male
    Chipotle Service Manager
    Ohio
    I've used Clockwork since my Droid X days and this is the first time I've seen TWRP. It looks fancy and sleek but its causing me some problems. I "made" a backup of my stock 4.4.2 and later on wanted to back up my AOKP 4.4.2 ROM. My TWRP asked me for a password, which I've never recalled setting up a password and it won't back up my AOKP, also my Stock backup disappeared as well.

    Any thoughts or problems like this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,290
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,290
    23,628
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Never heard of a custom recovery asking for a password...:eek:

    Can you tell us the version number of TWRP you are using?
     
  3. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    hmmmmmm...I use TWRP all the time and it never asks me that?

    I am using version 2.6.3.4
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I've seen it once before, a re-download and re-install fixed it.

    I'd start with that :)
     
  5. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    Only time I've seen TWRP asking for a password is when you flash it straight after unlocking the bootloader. A full boot cycle is needed first.

    This sounds a different scenario. As suggested, I'd reflash TWRP first
     
  6. CaucasionJ

    CaucasionJ Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    175
    16
    38
    Male
    Chipotle Service Manager
    Ohio
    I'm using 2.6.3.4

    It's fine now... I think the re-install helped. My Stock 4.4.2 back up was there but not the AOKP, oh well. It was strange.
     
    scary alien likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...