1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Typing "you're" with Swype

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Redflea, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    I'm running the current swype beta on my D2, and it refuses to offer the contraction "you're" if I swype over y-o-u-r-e. Works if I swype over y-o-u-'-r-e, but won't offer it as an option if I skip the apostrophe.

    Other contractions (like "won't" or "wasn't" or "I'm") don't require me to swype over the apostrophe to get offered the contraction - e.g., if I swype w-a-s-n-t I get offered "wasn't" as the primary word choice.

    Can anyone else get Swype to remember "you're" as an option when swyping y-o-u-r-e?
     

    Advertisement

  2. DenverRalphy

    DenverRalphy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    440
    85
    53
    Aurora CO
    I usually swype you then follow it with 're. Flows easier for me.
     
  3. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313

    It works for me, I just make sure that I don't draw a straight line, it seems to pick it up easier if you make little arches from letter to letter since they are all on the top of the keyboard.
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Interesting...so you do get "you're" using that method, not swyping to the apostrophe?

    No matter what I do, arches above or below from letter to letter, I never get a "you're" unless I swype down to the apostrophe between the u and the r.
     
  5. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    It seems like swype likes a slight pause on each letter of "you're" for it to come up constantly, and this is without using the apostrophe key.
     
  6. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Thanks. Yeah, I tried that endlessly, varying amounts of pause between letters before I posted the question.

    Really odd that it won't work for me on this particular word. I'm on a D2 running a GB ROM, maybe there's a quirk in that combination w/Swype...

    Oh well, time to move on. At least I've confirmed I'm not missing a trick/technique that makes it work w/out swooping down the apostrophe. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...