1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root UA switcher that will work with Steam via wifi tether?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by deuce947, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. deuce947

    deuce947 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    45
    1
    16
    So after Metro's block and the numerous ways to change your UA String while browsing was accompished, I was ecstatic. But Steam still won't run properly while connected to my Indulge via wifi tether, So here's my question...

    Has anyone out there found a way to alter the UA string within Steam so I can play my online games? Or some other way to run the program with a proper connection via wifi tether??

    Any help would be much appreciated :)

    Btw, Thanks to all who have contributed to making our phones reach their potential, especially you k0nane!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. deuce947

    deuce947 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    45
    1
    16
    Also, my apologies for posting this in All things Root, but the site wouldn't let me start a thread in the normal Indulge forum; kept telling me I wasn't logged in.
     
  3. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
  4. deuce947

    deuce947 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    45
    1
    16
    I believe you misunderstood... I was referring to STEAM, the gaming software. I can't figure out how to alter the In-browser overlay User Agent String so I can replace it with that of my Indulge's UA string.
     
  5. deuce947

    deuce947 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    45
    1
    16
    BTW, I tried looking for the answer within Steam's forums, but most people there don't even know what a UA string is, lol.
     
  6. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    Silly me sorry I read wrong yes I know steam and have never tried it.
     
  7. epicflailguy

    epicflailguy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 25, 2012

    May 25, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I need help with this immediately as well. I signed up for the express purpose to discuss this.

    I have T-mobile and they recently put a tether block on my account, even though I already pay an outrageous amount for Unlimited data. This is despicable and I will not tolerate it.

    All they're doing is running a transparent proxy layer over all the connections, which does nothing else but look for desktop browsers user agent strings, for those who don't know what is going on here. I have defeated all of their blocks via user agent switching, registry editing and the like, but the one thing I cannot get around is Steam's built-in browser.

    And I have tried just about everything to get around this; proxies, SSH tunneling, running Steam in a sandbox program to try and filter it through, running Steam in an emulated operating system to try and isolate just the data, trying to run my own connection as a server with a loopback through my own system with various layers of proxy and tunnel programs, nothing works.

    Steam's browser is just awful, that's what it comes down to. It's hard coded into the system and I've even gone so far as using a hex editor to ripping the program apart just to try and see if I could dig around in there and pull out whatever part of it is identifying itself as Webkit or Chrome or however it's showing up.

    Now, most people might say, well big deal it's just the browser. Well, no. You can't TRADE. No way to utilize the items/trade server. It's blocked off when you're on Socks and http proxies (Steam doesn't support proxies officially). So there's no way to get to the item server, that means no hats in Team Fortress 2. That also means no Store, and that means Steam is losing money by the second because no one can trade.

    What needs to happen is that Steam either tells us where we can change the user agent string in that terrible browser they have, or someone form Steam needs to call T-mobile and tell them to unblock and exclude their specific browser from the list. Outside of that, even with all my expertise I am unable to defeat this block. There has to be another way to do this.

    I am not going to pay for a service I already pay for. Unlimited data should mean unlimited. Not "unlimited" and by the way, gimmie $15 more". I will rip down this tether block in any way I can and keep at it. If anyone has any info on how to help, please keep this thread alive and put in your two cents.
     
  8. kevev

    kevev Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014

    Nov 4, 2014
    6
    0
    5
    .
     
    #8 kevev, Jan 31, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...