1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root UD Froyo eXtreme 8.0.0 (FRF22D

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by inssane, Sep 2, 2010.

?

Poll closed due to new release for this ROM

  1. 5 Star ROM Rating: Elite

    79 vote(s)
    66.4%
  2. 4 Star ROM Rating: Outstanding

    24 vote(s)
    20.2%
  3. 3 Star ROM Rating: Average

    7 vote(s)
    5.9%
  4. 2 Star ROM Rating: Not Ready for Primetime

    3 vote(s)
    2.5%
  5. 1 Star ROM Rating: Not Usable

    6 vote(s)
    5.0%
  1. publicanimal

    publicanimal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    545
    88
    98
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Probably a smart move. I think having a screen protector on the Droid is mostly unnecessary, but there are 4 things that can scratch the screen:

    1. Diamonds
    2. Sand
    3. Ceramics
    4. Broken glass

    I've never used a screen protector, and I've had my phone since November; there are zero scratches on my screen. But I wouldn't take it to the beach, that's asking for trouble.
     

    Advertisement

  2. publicanimal

    publicanimal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    545
    88
    98
    Santa Cruz, CA
    A New UD website is up. Methinks this bodes well for us:

    Ultimate Droid
     
  3. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    All I know is that BD was waiting for the site to be up and running, which it IS. Who knows? He may wait until 10:10 PM on 10/10/10 to release it :rolleyes:
    but something tells me it will go public before then. Keep checking his site for the link... it could happen any time!
     
  4. androidlover14

    androidlover14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    325
    26
    43
    Orlando, FL
    Yeah I saw on the site of someone suggesting that he could try to launch it at 10:10. Already registered on the site and have been raiding that site like a burglar in a supermarket. <----that wasn't funny. lol:).

    But yeah my username on the ultimate droid website is ROM_Whore so look out for me. :D
     
  5. androidlover14

    androidlover14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    325
    26
    43
    Orlando, FL
    so anybody know of a fix for the bluetooth. that seems to be my only bug on this rom.
     
  6. publicanimal

    publicanimal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    545
    88
    98
    Santa Cruz, CA
    LOL, try scrolling up to the top of this page bud.
     
  7. androidlover14

    androidlover14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    325
    26
    43
    Orlando, FL
    that only addresses the voice dialing. My BT doesn't work altogether.
     
  8. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    That can't be a ROM issue because my BT worked fine with UD8...
     
  9. kujayhawks77

    kujayhawks77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    142
    13
    38
    Conroe, TX
    I swear you are posting just to tease us with your signature.
     
  10. kujayhawks77

    kujayhawks77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    142
    13
    38
    Conroe, TX
    I know you can't say much but I was just wondering if you have only run the stock kernel on the new rom?
     
  11. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I've been running stock all day, putting the ROM through its paces. I have not yet switched kernels; but if I do, it'll be back to P3's 250-1200 LV kernel. My Droid happens to love it.
     
    kujayhawks77 likes this.
  12. androidlover14

    androidlover14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    325
    26
    43
    Orlando, FL
    Just like my droid loves chevy kernel's. Except one thing is that my phone bootloops when I tried 1.25 ghz from Chevy but when I went to LFY I was able to get to 1.33 ghz but it wasn't really stable but still. But w/e. Now back to my trollin of these forums.
     
  13. kujayhawks77

    kujayhawks77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    142
    13
    38
    Conroe, TX
    I use Chevy's ULV 1.2 and my phone seems to love it so I am hoping the streak will continue.
     
  14. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I backup DAILY! And sync Titanium Backup with DropBox every few days. It's the only way to roll. :)
     
  15. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    What exactly does syncing with dropbox do? :thinking:
     
  16. androidlover14

    androidlover14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    325
    26
    43
    Orlando, FL
    I have a question for you though.

    If you tone it down a it to 1 gigahertz do you notice any difference?

    I think that's why all the new high-end Android phones are just at 1 gigs because you don't see a noticeable difference. Except all the new phones do AMAZING at the Quadrant Benchmark. My cousin's droid 2 pulls up at near 1700 or above 1700 consistently even when he has apps and widgets running.

    Thats what I don't completely understand. How come the new phones get amazing scores but my droid running at 1.2 ghz pulls up at 1400-1500 w/ apps running?
     
  17. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Maybe it has to do with the Droid's internal data bus limitations. You can only push so much so fast... perhaps the new phones have a different bus structure?
     
  18. androidlover14

    androidlover14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    325
    26
    43
    Orlando, FL
    I would like to know to!
    I use it just b/c it only comes w/ the donate version of TIBU. I still don't really know what it does.:thinking:
     
  19. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    If my DROID was to get lost, stolen, or crushed, I have backups of all of my apps and data out in the cloud, and on all of my PCs. I LOVE me some DropBox. :cool:
     
  20. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I have paid TiBU and see nothing about a DropBox in it. Tutorial, please?
     
  21. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Go into Preferences of TiBU and enable DropBox. Pretty straight forward from there.
     
  22. androidlover14

    androidlover14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    325
    26
    43
    Orlando, FL
    Seems like a good idea.
     
  23. kujayhawks77

    kujayhawks77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    142
    13
    38
    Conroe, TX
    You know I honestly can't say for sure. I have it set to ondemand with a min of 1000 and a max of 1200 and I can't say I honestly notice it jump between the two speeds when using my phone. I do have it set to drop to 400 when my screen is asleep.

    I hit quad scores in the 1700's pretty often running LFY 1.6 with Slayhers 1.25 kernel but it was running my phone much hotter than I felt comfortable with.

    I know the Droid Pro is coming with a 1.3 Ghz processor, I don't think that the 1 ghz is necessarily the optimal level as much as it is the technology hasn't been there. Also as far as I know since the bootloader on the D2 and DX are locked no one has been able to overclock these devices. Although I did see a quad score for a galaxy S + Lagfix that benched at 2300.

    I still debate as to whether you can compare quad scores from different devices anyways. I know I've seen Incredibles that score less than D1's but I have to believe the fact they aren't limited to 256 RAM makes a difference in actual speed.
     
  24. androidlover14

    androidlover14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    325
    26
    43
    Orlando, FL
    I think it's safe to say that the OG droid has officially become outdated. But oh well. I don't care as long as Ultimate Droid 1.0.0 comes out sometime today. I have become so impatient in the last 2 days that it has gotten out of hand.
     
  25. kujayhawks77

    kujayhawks77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    142
    13
    38
    Conroe, TX
    I wouldn't say it's outdated. I feel that my phone still keeps up with the upper 75% of android phones that are released. It is probably the most customizable as well with the exception of the Nexus One.
     

Share This Page

Loading...