1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Uh-Oh! Excessive Roaming....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 9to5cynic, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Tsk tsk to me. Looks like my last 6 months have been a little too much roaming. Now, to me the curious part is I have (in the past) gotten better signal in the summer. Seems this summer is not the case.

    Is it really my fault if sprint has been having network issues that cause me to roam where I didn't used to? I don't really know. Don't care too much either. Anyway... hope this isn't a foreshadowing of a 'goodbye' for my evo pals here. We'll see tomorrow if I can work anything out with Sprint (for $1000 a month I'll let them put a tower up in the backyard if it means better 3g o_O )

    I guess I always thought that Sprint was the *least* unethical of the cell co. in the US. Well, hope I can stick with them.

    At first I thought this coincided with me rooting my phone... Rooted Feb. Now Sept.... So that's about 6 months.... hmm.... Maybe rooting made me use my phone more?!

    ---
    Oh, and this is good.. Around April, the local paper did a story about how in the whole region reports have been that Sprint's network has been suffering... So that just adds to my puzzlement. At first I was just blaming sprint, but now it might really be their fault.. .? Eh. 1 am.
    ---
    Also, I've been pretty watchful of my data, in order to preserve battery. As soon as I read the letter, I switched from roaming to 'home only' network, and instantly lost all data connections. Thankfully, dial up still exists... :/ ;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    It had nothing to do with rooting, I can almost guarantee you that(unless you screwed with your radios)
     
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    or switching prl's
     
  4. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    If you load the Verizon prl, you'll get red flagged for sure. All of your data will be roaming , no in network. That's how Mr. Ed got booted, granted he wanted to get canceled.
     
  5. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    I didn't mean technically, just that I'm using my phone a lot more (and hotspot from time to time... like now... >.>)

    And I've avoided the Verizon PRL for this very reason...

    Oh well, I guess I'll know relatively soon if Sprint is in my future...
     
  6. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I am calling to complain to Sprint again tomorrow about the crappy service in my area over the last 2 months. All of my calls are on roam(never had this issue in 6 years) so I am assuming that all of my data is on roam as well. This will be the third time in 2 months I have called.....not that it will matter much I am guessing.
     
  7. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Yeah, we've had pretty lousy service in my area lately too. As soon as I opened the letter saying that they wanna can the account, I turned off roaming. Phone went silent until I turned it back on :)

    Here's a fun fact: On my sprint account, it says that I've used XXXX KB / Unlimited for Roaming...

    I guess 'unlimited' doesn't mean unlimited when applied to data.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...